← Back to the rankingIII Liceum Ogólnokształcące im. Adama Mickiewicza w Katowicach

Katowice, Poland · est. 1872 · State
Illustration · Katowice
III Liceum Ogólnokształcące im. Adama Mickiewicza, known locally as Mickiewicz, is a state liceum in central Katowice with a century and a half of history: in 2022 the school marked 150 years. Its alumni include scientists, rectors of Silesian universities and public figures of the region. The liceum works with the University of Silesia and is counted as its school: students attend lectures at the university and at school. Since 2013 it has run the IB Diploma Programme: two years of a preparatory Pre-IB class with extended mathematics, Polish and English and elements of bilingual teaching, followed by the IB DP in grades 3-4, where all lessons except Polish, foreign languages and physical education are taught in English. The other classes, biology and chemistry, mathematics with physics or computer science, history, mathematics with biology, and mathematics with geography, follow the Polish curriculum in Polish. In the WaszaEdukacja 2026 ranking the school placed first among licea in the Silesian region and 16th in Poland.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Polish, English
Languages taught
German, Spanish, French
About the fees It is a public school run by the City of Katowice; tuition is free, including in the IB classes. A separate IB exam fee is not mentioned on the website.
Admissions Grade 1 admits through the Vulcan electronic admissions system by points for the egzamin ósmoklasisty, grades and achievements. Candidates for the Pre-IB class (30 places) also take an English language competence test at B2 level in a format close to FCE, plus questions about the IB Diploma Programme: 75 minutes, up to 50 points; with 35 points or more a candidate proceeds, and the test points are added to the admission points. In 2026 applications ran from 11 May to 2 June and the test took place on 9 June; winners and finalists of English olympiads are exempt, and winners of regional competitions in other subjects with 70% on the test are admitted first. The IB DP (grade 3) admits the school's own Pre-IB students and, if places remain, grade 2 students from other four-year licea and those returning from abroad. Candidates without Polish citizenship may take their own mother tongue instead of Polish in group 1 as a self-taught standard level course.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-4 (liceum). A four-year liceum ogólnokształcące with the Polish curriculum and matura. Intake 2026/2027: 1A Pre-IB (30 places: extended mathematics, Polish, English, elements of bilingual teaching), 1B biology and chemistry, 1C mathematics and English with physics or computer science, 1D history with English and civics, 1E mathematics with biology and chemistry or with geography and English. English is the main foreign language; the compulsory second language is German or Spanish. IB Diploma Programme since 2013 in grades 3-4: Polish A Literature, English A Literature, English B HL, French, German, Spanish ab initio and SL; Geography, History, Environmental Systems and Societies, Business Management, Economics; Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Physics; Mathematics Analysis and Approaches, Applications and Interpretation; TOK, CAS, Extended Essay. A group opens with 6-7 students.
Address ul. Adama Mickiewicza 11, 40-092 Katowice
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Diploma Programme. The IB track runs in the international classes of a Polish liceum: the Diploma in grades 3-4, alongside the Polish curriculum leading to the matura.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school occupies a building at ul. Mickiewicza 11 in central Katowice; there is an assembly hall, a library with a blog and book ordering by email, and laboratories for profile classes in chemistry, biology and physics. As a University of Silesia school, the liceum uses university lecture halls, the Scientific Information Centre and the Academic Library of the universities in Katowice. The building is under video surveillance with its own regulations. It is a day school with no boarding.
Clubs and activities: League for Nature Protection Club · Computer Science Club · Mathematics Clubs · Olympiad Workshops with Jagiellonian University · PROBOT Project · Exempt from Theory Social Projects · Student Council · Seaside Nature Workshops in Stegna
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
✓CCTV
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The statute describes psychological and pedagogical support: the school has a pedagogue, a psychologist and a special education pedagogue, and the school nurse supports students with special needs. The school has adopted child protection standards binding on staff and video surveillance regulations. An academic integrity rule sets consequences for plagiarism and cheating.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country