Ranking · Italy · Rome
← Back to the ranking

Istituto di Istruzione Superiore Evangelista Torricelli

Italy Rome, Italy · est. 1989 · State
Illustration · Rome
76.6#28 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Istituto di Istruzione Superiore Evangelista Torricelli is a state scientific liceo in north-west Rome, serving Trionfale, Primavalle, Monte Mario and Boccea. It began in 1989 as a branch of the Liceo Malpighi on Via del Forte Braschi, became the independent Liceo E. Torricelli in the 2000-2001 school year and in 2015 merged with the former Cartesio-Luxemburg institute to become an IIS. Today it offers three liceo scientifico tracks: standard, applied sciences with computing and no Latin, and since the 2022-2023 school year a Cambridge course. In Cambridge classes English as a Second Language and Mathematics in years 1-2 and Biology in years 3-4 follow Cambridge IGCSE syllabuses, partly with native speakers; IGCSE exams are optional. The main language of instruction is Italian and the final qualification is the Italian maturità. In the 2025-2026 school year the school has 909 students in 43 classes and 101 teachers.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
Latin
Students
909
Class size
On average 21 students per class.
About the fees Tuition at this state school is free. For the Cambridge class families pay an annual contribution: in the latest published notice (2023) 200 euro on enrolment and 100 euro before lessons start; each IGCSE exam is paid separately, and families buy English and Italian textbooks. All students pay a voluntary contribution of 100 euro.
Admissions Year 1 enrolment is in January through the national Iscrizioni online procedure. One Cambridge year 1 class is formed; if oversubscribed, a ranking uses the average mark and the English mark of year 3 of middle school and language certificates from A1 to B1; ties favour applicants who also chose the standard track, and the last place is drawn by lot. Those not admitted to the Cambridge class join a standard class and the waiting list; moving into the Cambridge class from year 2 requires promotion in June and a PET (B1) certificate. The Cambridge contribution is paid annually, and non-payment means losing the place the following year. The school says it has foreign students who do not speak Italian, although children arriving directly from abroad are rare, and describes itself as a place of welcome and integration; no special conditions for them are described.
Stages and year groups 43 classes. Liceo scientifico: tradizionale, tradizionale Cambridge (since 2022-2023, in the main building) and opzione scienze applicate (no Latin, with computing). Final exam: esame di Stato. Cambridge IGCSE: English as a Second Language - 2 hours a week with a native speaker in years 1-2 on top of 3 hours of English, Mathematics - an extra hour in English with the class teacher in years 1-2, Biology - 2 hours with a native speaker in years 3-4 within the 3 hours of science; 30 hours a week in every year. IGCSE exams are optional, taken at the school in June and November, and count towards school credit. The school is also a Cambridge English Preparation Centre for the 2026-2027 school year.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. One Cambridge class a year in the science liceo: IGCSE English as a Second Language and Mathematics in years 1-2, Biology in years 3-4; exams are optional.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results INVALSI 2024-2025: in year 2, 76% of students reached the targets in Italian and 84% in mathematics, in year 5 77% and 83%; the school calls English results good and puts year 5 overall in line with the national benchmark. The school does not publish IGCSE results.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: Three buildings in north-west Rome. The school has chemistry, physics and science labs (2-3 each), three computer labs and two drawing studios, a renovated library in the main building with its collection being digitised, a digital library, two assembly halls and a screening room. Sports facilities: two gyms, two five-a-side pitches, two football pitches, two outdoor basketball and volleyball courts, table tennis and a weights room. Every classroom has an interactive board and internet. The Via Borromeo branch has no gym, so students have PE in the main building once a week; the Via Lombroso branch has its own labs and outdoor areas. Transport is available for students with disabilities.
Clubs and activities: IMUN (Model United Nations) · School Sports Centre · Astronomy Course · Nature Photography Course · EIPASS (computer skills certification) · Il Giovane Periferico (school newspaper) · Penne e pensieri (school podcast) · M'Arte Exhibition · White Night at Torricelli (school open night) · EPAS (European Parliament Ambassador School) · Erasmus+ Consortium

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
✓Number of teachers101
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: Course programmes are taught by Italian teachers and native English speakers with proven subject and language skills; their CVs are reviewed by exam board inspectors, and teachers take regular professional development.
In the 2025-2026 school year the school has 101 teachers; most have permanent contracts and have worked at the school for many years.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has an e-policy on safe internet use and a section on preventing bullying and cyberbullying with Generazioni Connesse materials and safe internet rules. An inclusion department supports students with disabilities, learning disorders and special needs, and transport is available for students with disabilities.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Highlands InstituteRome · 76.4Educa International School VersiliaCamaiore · 76.3Istituto Aleardo Aleardi - International School of VeronaVerona · 76.9Liceo Scientifico Statale «Federigo Enriques»Livorno · 76.2