Ranking · Italy · Verona
← Back to the ranking

Istituto Aleardo Aleardi - International School of Verona

Italy Verona, Italy · est. 1948 · Private
Illustration · Verona
76.9#27 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Istituto Aleardo Aleardi is a private school in Verona founded in 1948 by the Nalin family; in 1996 it opened its international section, the International School of Verona. The school is a scuola paritaria recognised by the Italian Ministry of Education and takes children from 3 to 18: nursery, primary, scuola media and licei. In the international section lessons are mostly in English with native-speaker teachers, while Italian remains the second language of instruction: nursery classes are 70% English and 30% Italian, and in middle school Italian, Latin, music, technology and physical education are taught in Italian. The international track leads to Cambridge examinations: Checkpoint, then IGCSE at the end of liceo year 3, and in years 4-5 the IB Diploma Programme. Italian sections run alongside: a five-year liceo scientifico with the scienze applicate option and a four-year version, with language, business and sports profiles. More than 700 students of over 20 nationalities attend. The average IB Diploma score of the class of 2025 was 35, and all students earned the diploma.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English, Italian
Languages taught
German, Spanish, Chinese, Latin
School website
Students
700
About the fees The school does not publish tuition fees on its website; IB distance learning courses through Pamoja are charged extra.
Admissions The international section is open to students of all nationalities able to benefit from its programme; admission depends on space in the class, age, linguistic and academic preparation, and motivation. Families are advised to apply a year in advance. For middle school and the first three years of liceo, external candidates send school records, then submit a written application and attend a screening interview with their family (usually at school, online in exceptional cases), where visas and living arrangements are also discussed; then placement tests in English, Mathematics and Science follow. Applicants to year 1 of the international liceo from other middle schools take an English test in late winter or in summer; the school can arrange support courses for students whose English is not yet sufficient. The IB Diploma Programme admits students who have completed liceo year 3 or an equivalent foreign stage, based on a written application with a motivational essay, an interview and tests; internal students need good IGCSE results. Transfers between IB DP Year 1 and 2 are not accepted. Italian and English support lessons are available for new students.
Stages and year groups Grades Nursery 1-3, 1-5, scuola media 1-3, liceo 1-5. Nursery - three years, ages 3-5; primary - five years, ages 5-10; scuola media - three years, ages 11-13, with the Italian first-cycle examination; liceo - five years, ages 14-18. International section: the primary programme blends the Italian curriculum with Cambridge frameworks and ends with Cambridge external examinations in English, Mathematics and Science (Cambridge Primary); in middle school, annual Cambridge examinations in English, Mathematics and Science; in year 1 of the international liceo, Cambridge Secondary 1 Checkpoint (Lower Secondary) in English, Mathematics and Science; in years 2-3, the Cambridge IGCSE course with compulsory examinations at the end of year 3 in 11 subjects: English Literature, First Language English, Latin, German, Spanish, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Business Studies, History. The first three years of the international liceo run as paritaria on a liceo scientifico basis; years 4-5 are the private IB Diploma Programme, which does not lead to the Italian maturità. Italian sections: a five-year liceo scientifico opzione scienze applicate (language, business and sports profiles) and a four-year version. There are no AS and A Level courses.
Address Via Segantini 20, 37138 Verona

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programmeCambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE · authorised programme
The school is listed in the IB register and runs the Diploma Programme. The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge Primary, Cambridge Lower Secondary, Cambridge IGCSE. The international section sits Cambridge exams in English, maths and science through primary and middle school, Checkpoint in year 1 of the liceo, then IGCSEs in 11 subjects in years 2-3 before the IB.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Average IB score
35 (world average 30.88)
Passed IB
100%
Exam results IB Diploma, class of 2025: highest score 45 out of 45, class average 35, 100% earned the diploma. The English page gives an average score of 35 over the past 5 years.
Where leavers go: King's College London · Newcastle University · University of York · University of Nottingham · University of Exeter · University of Glasgow · Boston University · New York University · University of California, Berkeley · University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) · University of Pennsylvania · University of Texas at Austin and others, 15 universities in the school's list in all
The school says most graduates of the international section go to universities abroad and lists universities in the UK, the US and the Netherlands with the faculties chosen. University preparation starts in high school with workshops, visits from university representatives and a college fair at the school.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Clubs and activities: Model United Nations · Junior Achievement · English Language Theatre Course · Guitar Lessons · Chinese Language and Culture · Assisted Study · Ensemble Music · Aleardiadi (school sports day)
Source: aleardi.it

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The international section employs native English-speaking teachers with university degrees, master's degrees and teaching qualifications who regularly attend workshops; liceo sciences are taught by native English speakers with doctorates. Nursery classes have native English and Italian teachers, partly co-teaching. The school does not state teacher numbers or class sizes.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
84
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

H-FARM International School VicenzaVicenza · 77International School of ComoFino Mornasco · 77St. Stephen's SchoolRome · 77Scuola Internazionale di PaviaPavia · 77.1