← Back to the rankingIstituto Istruzione Secondaria Superiore Salvatore Trinchese

Martano, Italy · est. 1998 · State
Illustration · Martano
The Istituto Istruzione Secondaria Superiore Salvatore Trinchese is a state upper secondary school in Martano, in the Grecìa Salentina near Lecce. It grew out of branches of schools in Maglie and Galatina opened here from 1981 and became independent in 1998; it is named after the Martano-born biologist Salvatore Trinchese. The school combines licei (scientifico, scientifico opzione scienze applicate with a STEM focus, linguistico), a technical institute in economics (Amministrazione Finanza e Marketing with a sports orientation, Sistemi Informativi Aziendali), a vocational institute for health and social services and evening courses for adults. About 750 students attend. Lessons are taught in Italian. Since 2018-2019 there has been a Liceo Scientifico Internazionale section: English, geography, mathematics and biology follow Cambridge IGCSE syllabuses in English, with a native speaker alongside the subject teacher, and students sit IGCSE exams at the school itself, which is an official Cambridge exam centre. The school takes part in Erasmus+ and eTwinning, and its AiCademy team won DigiEduHack 2024.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, Spanish, German, Latin
About the fees The school is a state school and tuition is free. The school does not mention on its pages any extra charge for the Cambridge course or IGCSE exams or a voluntary school contribution.
Admissions Grade 1 enrolment follows the state online procedure in January. The Liceo Scientifico Internazionale section selects 20-25 students with A2/B1 English through an entry test meant to identify strong and motivated students. Open days, trial school days and visits with a tutor help families choose; students with disabilities can join shared activities before enrolling. Foreign students attend the school; the school says it pays attention to each student's cultural diversity.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 scuola secondaria di secondo grado. Five-year upper secondary school on the Italian curriculum with the esame di Stato. Licei: liceo scientifico (standard and the Liceo Scientifico Internazionale with IGCSE), liceo scientifico opzione scienze applicate with a STEM track, liceo linguistico (English, French and Spanish or German). Technical institute: Amministrazione Finanza e Marketing with a sports orientation, Sistemi Informativi Aziendali. Vocational institute: servizi per la sanità e l'assistenza sociale; second level evening courses for adults. Cambridge IGCSE in the Liceo Scientifico Internazionale: English as a Second Language and Geography in grades 1-2 (English 3 hours plus 2 and 1 extra, geography 3 hours plus 1 and 2), exams at the end of grade 2; Mathematics and Biology in grades 3-4 (mathematics 4 hours plus 1 and 2, biology 3 hours plus 2 and 1), exams at the end of grade 4; grade 5 focuses on the Italian final exam. Extra hours are co-taught by the subject teacher and a native English speaker.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. The international science liceo takes IGCSE ESL and Geography in years 1-2 and Mathematics and Biology in years 3-4, co-taught with a native speaker, with exams held at the school at the end of years 2 and 4.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Makerspace
Clubs and activities: Robotics · KET, PET, First and Advanced Courses · Spanish and French Courses · ICDL (computer skills certification) · Erasmus+ · eTwinning · Music Courses · Let's Win Together (inclusive sport)
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
IGCSE subjects are taught by Italian teachers together with native English speakers who are subject specialists; the school runs English courses and B2/C1 certification for teachers. The website does not give staff numbers or qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
A school psychologist and a counselling desk are available; cyberbullying prevention is part of civic education, there is a whistleblowing procedure and a ban on mobile phones in lessons. The school is a member of the anti-mafia network Libera.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country