Ranking · Italy · Gorizia
← Back to the ranking

Istituto Statale «Dante Alighieri» - Polo Liceale di Gorizia

Italy Gorizia, Italy · est. 1629 · State
Illustration · Gorizia
70.2#247 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Istituto Statale «Dante Alighieri» - Polo Liceale di Gorizia is a state group of licei in Gorizia that brings together under one management the city's three oldest schools: the Dante Alighieri classical liceo, whose origins go back to a Jesuit gymnasium course of 1629, the Duca degli Abruzzi scientific liceo and the former Scipio Slataper teacher training institute. In the 2026-2027 school year it has 1056 students in 56 classes: liceo classico (including an arts and expression extension), liceo scientifico (with a Hack computing extension or a Goethe German extension), liceo linguistico, liceo linguistico ESABAC with a dual Italian-French diploma, liceo delle scienze umane and liceo economico sociale. Teaching is in Italian, following the national curriculum, with the Italian final exam (esame di Stato). Since the 2025-2026 school year the school has been an official Pearson Edexcel centre: the classical, scientific and language licei have separate international track classes in which the morning extension hours are given to subjects taught in English through CLIL with preparation for International GCSE exams, and in the language liceo in years 3-4 for International AS Level. The school is also a Gold Cambridge English preparation centre.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Pearson Edexcel · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, German, Spanish, Latin
Students
1056
Students per teacher
about 9 students per teacher
Class size
on average 19 students per class: from 16 in the classical liceo to 20 in the scientific liceo
About the fees The school is a state school, and education there is free under Italian law. The website and the PTOF give no amounts for a voluntary contribution or for the Pearson course and International GCSE exams.
Admissions Enrolment in year 1 follows the state procedure; the Pearson Edexcel track is not a separate course and cannot be chosen at enrolment. After classes are formed, usually in March, the school sends families a form for those wishing to join a Pearson class and holds an entrance test in the first two weeks of July. In the scientific liceo families choose the German or computing extension at enrolment, and in the language liceo the regular track with Spanish as the third language or ESABAC. Transfers from another school or track from year 3 require a bridging exam. The school teaches students with foreign citizenship (5.4% of students, most in the language and human sciences licei): recently arrived students receive Italian as a second language support in class and in open groups, and initial assessment may be deferred under an individual plan.
Stages and year groups Grades liceo 1-5, 56 classes. Five years of liceo (scuola secondaria di secondo grado) ending with the Italian esame di Stato. Tracks: liceo classico (113 students), liceo scientifico (356), liceo linguistico and ESABAC (238), liceo delle scienze umane (225), liceo economico sociale (124). ESABAC: a specific French language and literature course and history taught in French in the last three years, leading to a dual esame di Stato and baccalauréat. Pearson Edexcel since the 2025-2026 school year in separate classes of three licei: in the scientific liceo International GCSE Science Single Award and English as a Second Language, in the classical liceo International GCSE Biology and English as a Second Language, in the language liceo International GCSE History and English as a Second Language in years 1-2 and International AS Level English Literature and German in years 3-4. In the scientific and classical licei the track ends with International GCSE exams. Lessons take place in the morning extension hours through CLIL with the support of the English teacher.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Pearson · authorised programme
The Pearson register names the school as its centre, and it teaches Pearson Edexcel courses itself.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board

It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.

What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: The school operates in four buildings in central Gorizia. The Liceo Classico is housed in the historic Palazzo Formentini, restored in the early 1990s, with computing, science and language laboratories and sports areas in the school park. According to the PTOF, the buildings have 18 equipped laboratories (14 with internet), themed classrooms, a distributed library and about 160 computers and tablets; classrooms and labs were renewed with PNRR funding. Only the Via Diaz building has its own gym; the scientific liceo uses the Stella Matutina gym. Lessons last 54 minutes, and the time saved goes to laboratories and extra activities. There is no boarding.
Clubs and activities: Theatre Workshop in English · Theatre Workshop in German · Choir · School Sports Centre · Arduino Maker Lab · STEM Challenge: Physics Competition · STEM Challenge: Mathematics Competition · Architectural Survey Workshop · Certamina (classical languages competitions) · AIESEC Project

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers117
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
In the 2026-2027 school year the school has 117 teachers (27 men and 90 women), 6 of them support teachers; in addition there are 4 laboratory technical assistants and 33 administrative and auxiliary staff. Pearson track subjects are taught by subject teachers through CLIL together with the English teacher. The school takes part in the foreign language assistants programme.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has a section on wellbeing and preventing bullying and cyberbullying, a digital safety project, an e-policy document on digital technologies, protocols for students with special educational needs and a protocol for administering medicines. Evacuation plans, safety organisation charts for each building and first aid kit checks are published.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
60
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

International School of BrindisiBrindisi · 70.2Istituto Istruzione Secondaria Superiore Salvatore TrincheseMartano · 70.2Liceo Scientifico e Linguistico Statale G. MarconiMilan · 70.2Liceo Statale M. G. AgnesiMerate · 70.2