← Back to the rankingInternational School of Brindisi

Brindisi, Italy · est. 2025 · Private
Illustration · Brindisi
The International School of Brindisi is a small private non-profit international day school in Brindisi for children aged 3 to 18. It was founded in 2025 by families and professionals with international experience after the closure of the previous international school in the city, so that English-language schooling would continue in southern Italy. The school offers a full American curriculum from Pre-K to grade 12 in English, based on AERO and Common Core standards, with Advanced Placement courses in high school and VHS Learning online courses; graduates receive an American High School Diploma. The Italian Ministry of Education has recognised it as a foreign school, so attendance fulfils compulsory education under Italian law. Students come from more than twenty countries, classes have 10-15 students, and Italian is taught by a dedicated teacher.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $9 603–18 641 a year
8 500–16 500 EUR
Programmes
AP · American programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Class size
10 to 15 students per class.
Registration fee
≈ $395
350 EUR
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027 for EU-resident families: Pre-School (ages 3-4) 8500 EUR, Kindergarten to grade 8 12500 EUR, grades 9-12 15200 EUR; for non-EU families 8500, 15200 and 16500 EUR respectively. For grades 9-12 self-paying families are advised to confirm fees with the admissions office; companies and international organisations pay a separate negotiated rate. Fees include a personal tablet, insurance, textbooks and materials, stationery, two day trips and local outings, and two clubs until 16:40. Discounts: up to 1500 EUR for full payment by 28 February 2026, 1000 EUR by 31 March 2026, 500 EUR for each additional child; instalment plans on request.
Admissions Admission is not a competitive selection but a process of getting to know the student: first contact and information on previous schooling and family needs, document review, a campus visit and meeting with the team, application review, the decision and payment terms; feedback usually comes within 72 hours of a complete application. Age, previous schooling, language level and emotional maturity are considered. Young children need no English certificate; from elementary to grade 12 a minimum English level of B2 is required, otherwise an additional fee applies. The school accepts students from Italian, international and other schools and helps them move to an English-language curriculum. International students are accepted: there is a separate fee for non-EU families, and students come from more than twenty countries.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-K, K, 1-12. American curriculum: Early Years (Pre-K, ages 3-5), elementary (grades 1-5), middle school (grades 6-8), high school (grades 9-12) with university preparation, Advanced Placement courses and VHS Learning online courses. AERO and Common Core standards, multi-age classes, progress monitored with MAP testing. Graduates receive an American High School Diploma; the school's first graduate entered the University of Salento in 2026. For students permanently resident in Italy the school helps with recognition (equivalenza) of Italian schooling. The school is recognised as a foreign school by the Italian Ministry of Education.
Address Via Benvenuto Cellini 25 - 72100 Brindisi
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cognia · accreditationThe school is accredited by Cognia.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CogniaCognia, formerly AdvancED
The widest-reaching American accreditation: some forty thousand schools in over a hundred countries. It accredits both individual schools and whole school systems. It also sells a paid membership with no inspection behind it, and that membership is often passed off as accreditation.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →AP
Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.
What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.
American programme
The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.
What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Where leavers go: University of Salento
The school opened in 2025; its first student to earn an American diploma began Computer Engineering at the University of Salento in 2026. High school students are assigned a mentor teacher who helps with course selection and monitors progress; the school states that credits earned are recognised by universities in the US, Canada, the UK and Europe.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Clubs and activities: Gross Motor Skills · Smart Media (documentary film) · Spanish Club · Basketball · Coding · Drama · Music · Chess · Student Council
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: The school states that every teacher holds at least a bachelor's degree in their subject and many hold a master's or higher; teachers have international qualifications and experience in overseas schools, many are native English speakers.
The school gives different teacher-student ratios: 1 to 5 on the home page and an average of 1 to 14 on the about page. The website names the head of school and nine teachers, as well as leadership, assistants and staff.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
✓Staff training
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The head of school is the Designated Safeguarding Lead. The school states that all staff, including club leaders, hold full safeguarding clearance and follow the school behaviour policy; the grounds are secure, and after clubs a staff member waits with children at the gate. Discipline follows Positive Discipline and Responsive Classroom approaches with restorative conversations.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)73.5 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country