← Back to the rankingIstituto di Istruzione Superiore Via Roma 298

Guidonia Montecelio, Italy · est. 1977 · State
Illustration · Guidonia Montecelio
Istituto di Istruzione Superiore Via Roma 298 is one of the largest state upper secondary schools in Italy, in Guidonia Montecelio north-east of Rome. It began in the 1970s as a branch of the Spallanzani science liceo of Tivoli, became an independent liceo in the 1977-1978 school year (later Liceo E. Majorana), has been in the Via Roma building since 1983, and in 2010 merged with the L. Pisano technical institute. Today it has a liceo scientifico (including a Cambridge track and a mathematics track), a liceo linguistico (including a Cambridge track), a humanities liceo, since 2020-2021 a music liceo, and in the technical building construction and environment, administration and finance and tourism, including a four-year course. It has more than 2000 students and more than 250 teachers. Since 2017 the school has been a Cambridge International School and an official exam centre: in 2025-2026 the Cambridge course ran in 14 classes for 256 students, with compulsory IGCSE exams. Teaching is in Italian; in the Cambridge classes three hours a week are taught with a native English speaker.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, German, Spanish, Latin
Class size
on average 22 to 24 students per class
About the fees Tuition is free: this is a state school. According to the school's letter for 2025-2026: a compulsory 15 euro contribution for insurance and digital equipment; a voluntary contribution of 50 euros (standard science, linguistic and humanities licei and the technical institute) or 100 euros (mathematics and music licei). The Cambridge course has a compulsory contribution of 300 euros a year on top of the voluntary 50 euros. From age 16 there are state fees of 6.04 euros for enrolment and 15.13 euros a year, with exemptions for income or merit.
Admissions Admission to the first year is through state online enrolment; when places run short the school ranks applications by the walking distance from the registered residence (not actual domicile) to the school. The music liceo has an instrument entrance exam with a ranking of admitted students. Students join the Cambridge classes at enrolment; the project costs 300 euros a year and exams are compulsory. The school does not publish conditions for foreign students.
Stages and year groups 98 classes. Tracks ending with the esame di Stato: liceo scientifico (standard, Liceo Scientifico Cambridge, Liceo matematico), liceo linguistico (standard and Liceo Linguistico Cambridge; language combinations: English, French, German; English, French, Spanish; English, Spanish, German), liceo delle scienze umane, liceo musicale, technical institute in Costruzioni, ambiente e territorio, Amministrazione, finanza e marketing, and tourism (five-year with the Rondine section, and four-year since 2018). School data: humanities liceo 383 students in 16 classes, main building (science, linguistic, music licei) 1402 students in 64 classes, technical institute 417 students in 18 classes. Cambridge: 3 hours a week in the morning timetable over all five years. Liceo Scientifico Cambridge: year 1 - PET preparation, year 2 - 2 hours of English as a Second Language and 1 hour of Biology, year 3 - 2 hours of Biology and 1 hour of English as a Second Language (Cambridge IGCSE exams in English as a Second Language and Biology), years 4-5 - IELTS preparation. Liceo Linguistico Cambridge - the same, but with IGCSE Travel and Tourism instead of Biology. Exams are compulsory.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. Cambridge classes: IGCSE English as a Second Language and Biology in the science liceo, ESL and Travel and Tourism in the languages liceo (years 2-3); exams are compulsory.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results The school's Cambridge report for 2025-2026: PET in year 2 - 60 students, 40% at B2, 17% B1+, 33% B1, 10% A2; IGCSE English as a Second Language in 4A - 21 students, A* 2, A 2, B 6, C 3, D 6, E 2; IGCSE Biology in 4A - 21 students, B 1, C 4, D 2, E 2, F 4, G 7, ungraded 1; IELTS in year 5 - 51 students, 53% at C1, 45% B2, 2% B1.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
✓Theatre or assembly hall
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Cambridge Project · Majorana-Pisano Cinema & TV · CineArena Majorana-Pisano (summer open-air cinema) · Music High School Concerts · School Twinning and Language Trips Abroad · Erasmus Plus · School Sports Club · Creative Writing · Physics in the Lab
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers250
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The school names more than 250 teachers. In the Cambridge classes lessons are taught by native English speakers under contract with the school; the project coordinator and exam officer are school teachers. According to the school, classes average about 22 students in the main building and about 23-24 in the humanities liceo and the technical institute.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
A free psychological support service for students, parents and staff operates in all three buildings; the school has an anti-bullying and anti-cyberbullying protocol and regulation with a committee in each building, a reporting form and a dedicated email address; a reception protocol for children with special educational needs and an inclusion plan are published.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country