← Back to homeINS Josep Lladonosa

Lleida, Spain · State
Illustration · Lleida
INS Josep Lladonosa is a state secondary school in Lleida, on Plaça Maria Rúbies. The school writes of more than thirty years of work and says plainly what it is: a school in Catalan, in a plural and respectful setting. It has run the IB Diploma Programme since the 2015-2016 school year and gives its code in the organisation - 050504. The school did not put the programme off to one side but made it the axis of its whole pedagogical renewal: in its own text it says it is renewing all its educational services on the philosophy of the Diploma Programme, betting on competence-based work, languages and academic demand, understood not only as good marks but as the ability to draw the best out of each student. Beyond the Diploma Programme the school runs the ordinary ESO and bachillerato stages; among its services it names a canteen and the loan of laptops, and among extracurricular things trips and exchanges and its own vocal group, the Coral Ensemble Lladonosa. The institute names its language of instruction itself: on its about page it writes that it remains a Catalan-language school.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Catalan
Admissions For ESO and the baccalaureate the institute admits through the common Catalan pre-registration and allocation of places; after allocation, enrolment for the 2026/27 school year is completed on its site, and those who did not list the institute as their first choice but were given a place there should write to preinscripcio@insjoseplladonosa.cat with the pre-registration receipt. The IB Diploma Programme has its own route: an online application before the set deadline, entrance tests of motivation and academic aptitude, and a personal interview. For 2026 the programme's open day took place on 19 February at 19:30, and the level and maturity test on Saturday 7 March from 9:00 to 12:30; the institute publishes the content of the test as a separate file. The institute names no language requirement and no conditions for foreigners.
Stages and year groups Grades 1º ESO - 2º Batxillerat, the IB Diploma Programme in the two senior years. The school runs compulsory secondary education (ESO) and bachillerato; the Diploma Programme is for students aged 16-19, lasts two years and requires one subject from each of the first five groups plus a sixth subject from the arts or a second subject from groups one to five, with a minimum of three and a maximum of four higher-level subjects. The core is theory of knowledge, the extended essay and CAS.
Address Plaça Maria Rúbies s/n, 25005 Lleida
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Of its services the school names a canteen ("espai menjador") and the loan of laptops to students; it publishes no detailed list of premises.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median74 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country