Ranking · Italy · Rome
← Back to the ranking

Institut International Saint-Dominique

Italy Rome, Italy · est. 1961 · Private
Illustration · Rome
77.9#17 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The Institut International Saint-Dominique is a private Catholic French international school in the north of Rome, founded in 1961 by the Roman Congregation of Saint Dominic. It is an AEFE partner school accredited by the French Ministry of Education; it has been IB-authorised since 2021, and an English-speaking international section has operated since September 2022. About 400 children aged 18 months to 18 years from more than 40 countries attend. Kindergarten and primary are bilingual: French and English days alternate, with 2-3 hours of Italian a week; in primary the Cambridge curriculum is added to the French programme. Middle school (collège) follows the French curriculum with the DNB exam plus optional Cambridge Lower Secondary or Italian Terza Media tracks; grades 9-10 (Grade 9-10) prepare for IGCSE. Upper secondary offers three paths: the French baccalauréat (with a European section and the ESABAC track, which also gives the Italian esame di Stato) or the IB Diploma Programme taught entirely in English in grades 11-12 (Grade 11-12), with pre-IB preparatory years. The school has the only co-educational boarding house in the AEFE network in Europe for middle and high school students.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $6 835–19 759 a year
6 050–17 490 EUR
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE · French programme · National programme
Admits from
18 months · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
French, English
Languages taught
Italian
Students
400
Registration fee
≈ $2 034
1 800 EUR
Deposit
≈ $565
500 EUR
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027, full rate paid by term or monthly: TPS 6050 euros a year, kindergarten 7600, primary 7990, collège 8850, lycée 9990; the Cambridge and Terza Media tracks in 6ème - 4ème and Grade 9 10370; IB Grades 10-12 17490 euros. Paying the whole year by 31 August 2026 is about 2% cheaper; the second and further children get a 10% tuition discount. Boarding with tuition for 2026-2027: 5-day from 22950 to 32490 euros, 7-day from 27250 to 36790 euros depending on level and room.
Admissions The school admits children of all nationalities all year round, subject to places: children without French are accepted and receive specific language support, and IGCSE and the IB from grade 9 (Grade 9) are taught entirely in English and open to non-French speakers. Steps: online application on the Eduka platform (school reports, parents' and child's passports), a pedagogical interview within 5 working days, a decision by the admissions committee within 2-3 days, then payment of the non-refundable first enrolment fee; enrolment is confirmed within 7 days of payment. The school requires full adherence to its educational values and rules; children of French families can apply for French consulate scholarships.
Stages and year groups Grades TPS - Terminale (Grade 12). French system: kindergarten (TPS from 18 months, PS, MS, GS), primary (CP - CM2, ages 6-11), collège (6ème - 3ème, ages 11-15, DNB exam), lycée (2nde - Terminale, ages 15-18) with the French baccalauréat, a European section and ESABAC (French baccalauréat and Italian esame di Stato at once). IB: preparatory pre-IB Grade 9 and Grade 10 and the IB Diploma Programme in Grades 11-12 entirely in English; Group 1 offers English, French and Italian as Language A, subjects include business, history, geography, biology, physics, chemistry and mathematics AA (3 subjects HL and 3 SL), plus TOK, the Extended Essay and CAS. Cambridge: a bilingual primary stream with the French and Cambridge curricula, a fee-paying Cambridge track in collège (Cambridge Lower Secondary, 6ème - 4ème), and IGCSE preparation in grades 9-10 (Grade 9-10); the school does not list subjects, except that the track strengthens language and science in English. There is also a Terza Media track for the Italian lower secondary certificate.
Address Via Igino Lega 5, 00189 Roma

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programmeAEFE · accreditationCambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE · authorised programmeOdyssey Education · school is part of the network
The school is listed in the IB register and runs the Diploma Programme. The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge Primary, Cambridge Lower Secondary, Cambridge IGCSE. A French school with a bilingual French and Cambridge primary track, a paid Cambridge Lower Secondary track in collège, and IGCSE preparation in Grades 9-10. The AEFE register gives the school partenaire status: the curriculum is French and recognised by the French education ministry.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AEFEAgency for French Education Abroad

It runs the network of French schools worldwide, while the accreditation itself, the homologation, is granted by the French education ministry and inspected by French state inspectors. A leaver from a homologated school moves into a school in France without an entrance examination. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
French programme

The state programme of France. A school is homologated by the French ministry of education, and a leaver may move into a school in France without entrance tests. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.

What this means for this school. Which year groups of this school are covered by homologation - only the primary ones, or all the way to the final year - is not stated here. The difference matters: it decides whether the school takes a child through to the French baccalaureate or hands them on to another school halfway.

National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Odyssey Educationschool network

A French group of international schools with its own site, odyssey.education; it describes itself as "a French international education group whose schools around the world provide an outstanding education from kindergarten through high school, combining the French national curriculum with innovative teaching methods", and its programme is declared as homologated by AEFE. The year the group was created is not given on the site; it says that Luc Chatel, a former French minister, co-founded Odyssey Education and has been its president since 2020, and that Catherine Lespine holds the post of chief executive. The numbers disagree within the site itself, and we give them all: the "Our schools" section writes "12 excellent schools on 3 continents and in 11 countries", the "A propos" page shows 12 schools and lists ten countries, and the French "Groupe Odyssey" page lists eleven schools in nine countries. The Asian part of the network is four schools under the La Petite Ecole name: Singapore, Bangkok, Ho Chi Minh City and Hanoi; La Petite Ecole Bangkok is given in the list of the group's schools and in the footer, with a link to lpebangkok.com. The site gives no total number of pupils and nowhere explains whether the schools belong to the group, are managed by it or work as a franchise.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Passed IB
100%
Exam results The school reports a 100% pass rate in the 2025 exams: the IB, the French baccalauréat, the DNB and the Italian Terza Media exam. The school does not publish an average IB score.
Where leavers go: Sciences Po · Sorbonne University · École Polytechnique · Bocconi University · LUISS · Catholic University of the Sacred Heart · Sapienza University of Rome · University of Bologna · University College London (UCL) · King's College London · University of Edinburgh · Maastricht University and others, 16 universities in the school's list in all
The school names universities its graduates enter every year in France, Italy, the UK, the Netherlands, Canada and the US; from grade 9 (Grade 9) a guidance and university application programme runs, and a careers fair is held every November.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
✓Boarding
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Clubs and activities: Arts and Sports Academy · Music - Individual Lessons and Orchestra · Theatre · Dance · Arts plastiques (visual arts) · Chess · Football · Model United Nations, CWMUN Rome · Charity Projects

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: a university admissions counsellor certified by NACAC and THE
The staff page lists the IB DP coordinator, teachers of IB subjects, Cambridge, the French and Italian programmes, ESABAC, art and sport; in primary, music, art and PE are taught in English. The school mentions small classes in the IB section and native-speaker language teachers. The school does not publish staff numbers or class sizes as figures.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
✓Access control
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A nurse and a psychologist work at the school every day, and there is a speech therapist; they run prevention and health sessions and support children with special needs, and the school has a psychological well-being area. The campus is enclosed and secure; boarders are supervised around the clock.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
86
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
75
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
95
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
64
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Liceo Statale Ettore MajoranaRho · 77.9International School of MilanBaranzate · 78St George's British International SchoolRome · 78The International School in GenoaGenoa · 78