← Back to the rankingInternational School of Como

Fino Mornasco, Italy · Private
Illustration · Fino Mornasco
The International School of Como is a private international day school in Fino Mornasco near Como for children aged 2 to 18; it has been running for more than 20 years and calls itself the only full IB continuum school in the region. Early years and primary follow the PYP (with the Reggio Emilia approach for the youngest), grades 7-11 the MYP, and in grades 12-13 since September 2025 students choose between the Diploma Programme and the Career-related Programme, with seven pathways in business, tourism, hospitality, fashion and nature conservation. All subjects except languages are taught in English by native-speaking teachers. From grade 2 to grade 11 families can choose an Italian strand: Italian curriculum subjects and preparation for the state exams at the end of primary and middle school are added to the IB programme, and some science, maths and humanities lessons are taught in Italian. All students study Italian, as a mother tongue or as a foreign language, and Spanish or German as a third language. The average IB Diploma score in 2025 was 34, the highest 39, and half of the graduates earned a bilingual IB Diploma.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $14 009–26 831 a year
12 400–23 750 EUR
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP, CP
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Italian, Spanish, German
Registration fee
≈ $2 824
2 500 EUR
About the fees Annual family fees for 2026-2027 are paid in three instalments: 25% by 17 February 2026 with the admission and registration fees, 50% by 23 August and 25% by 1 December 2026. Pre-Kindergarten and Kindergarten 12400 EUR; Transition 12500 EUR; grade 1 15800 EUR; grade 2 18000 EUR; grades 3-5 18250 EUR; grade 6 19450 EUR; grades 7-9 20100 EUR; grade 10 22550 EUR (including 750 EUR for the Il Cammino trip); grade 11 21800 EUR; grades 12-13 23750 EUR. Fees include books and stationery up to grade 6, day trips and personal insurance. A half day in Pre-K and Kindergarten cost 8100 EUR under the 2025-2026 fee schedule; a separate corporate fee schedule applies to companies.
Admissions New students are admitted throughout the year when places are available, except for grades 12-13, which are discussed individually. The family submits an enquiry, then has an online meeting with admissions and a campus tour, and provides school reports for two years and a teacher recommendation on the school's form. The child has an interview with the principal or the head of primary or secondary; grade 12 applicants take a CAT4 cognitive assessment. The leadership team decides on acceptance and placement; if a class is full the applicant goes on a waiting list, and in case of doubt a trial or conditional admission is possible. Students with diagnosed learning difficulties are admitted after evaluation by support services and an agreement with the family on funding individual support. Placement is by age. The school states it is designed for both local and international learners; Italian as a foreign language is offered from grade 2.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-K, K, Transition, 1-13. Early years: Pre-Kindergarten from age 2 (Reggio Emilia approach), Kindergarten, Transition and grade 1 (ages 3-5) under the PYP. Primary: grades 2-6 under the PYP with the grade 6 Exhibition; the Italian strand prepares for the end-of-primary exam (Quinta Elementare) as private candidates. Middle and early high school: grades 7-11 under the MYP with MYP eAssessments and the Personal Project in grade 11; the Italian strand leads to the Italian middle school certificate (Licenza Media) after the grade 9 exam. Grades 12-13: Diploma Programme or Career-related Programme; the school has offered the Career-related Programme since September 2025. The school states that with the right combination of subjects the IB Diploma gives legal equivalence to the Italian state exam.
Address Via Adda, 25 - 22073 Fino Mornasco (CO)
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP, MYP, DP, CP · authorised programmeInspired · school is part of the networkThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Primary Years, Middle Years, Diploma and Career-related programmes.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19), CP (ages 16-19, with a vocational slant). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate. CP is the final stage with a vocational slant, ages 16 to 19: some of the DP subjects plus an applied qualification. It is meant for those heading into a trade or an applied degree rather than an academic one.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Inspiredschool network
Inspired Education Group is a private school group founded in 2013. The group gives different figures on its own pages - 125 schools on some, "more than 100" on others - and we quote both: choosing for a group which of its own numbers is correct is not something we do. Its schools are in Europe, Latin America, Africa, the Middle East and Southeast Asia, and some of them keep their own historic names, such as King's College in Madrid and Riga. The group's site is inspirededu.com.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Average IB score
34 (world average 30.88)
Exam results IB Diploma 2025: average score 34, highest score 39, 50% of graduates earned a bilingual IB Diploma. The school reports a 100% pass rate year after year. Students in the Italian strand sit the state exams at the end of primary and middle school.
Where leavers go: London School of Economics (LSE) · King's College London · University of Bath · Bocconi University · Politecnico di Milano · University of Milano-Bicocca · Istituto Marangoni · Ca' Foscari University of Venice · Catholic University of the Sacred Heart · IULM University · IE University · Global American University
and others, 20 universities in the school's list in allCareer counselling starts in middle school; in the last year of the MYP students are guided in choosing Diploma Programme subjects for their future course, and a university counsellor works with high school students. The school states that some graduates receive undergraduate scholarships.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground · Makerspace
Clubs and activities: Maths Club · FLL Robotics Club · Genius Kid (science club) · Russian Language School · French Club · Creative Writing in English Club · Creative Writing in Spanish Club · Handwriting Club · Music Club · Spanish with Pop Songs Club · Percussion Club · Elementary Arts & Crafts · Early Years Art Club · Painting Skills Club · ISC Football Team Training · Girls Football Club · Volleyball Club · Fencing Club · Model United Nations · Homework Club · Eco Warriors · Student Council
Summer programme away from campus: . The school runs no camp of its own on campus
The school does not describe a summer camp of its own: students can join summer, winter and spring camps at partner schools abroad (including with coaches from Real Madrid football club and tennis associations) and exchanges lasting from several weeks to a school year. At the start of each school year grade 10 students go on the week-long Il Cammino expedition, 80 km through the Alps from Passo Valcava to Colico without phones, with Alpine guides (750 EUR included in the grade 10 fee); grade 12 has the CAStaway residential programme.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: The school states that teachers are IB certified and receive professional development through the IB; most Diploma Programme teachers are IB examiners; primary teachers are native English speakers, many bilingual; from grade 1 there are subject specialists in English, Italian, maths, science, drama, dance, music, art and PE.
Teaching assistants work alongside teachers in early years. The website names the executive principal, the heads of primary and secondary and three IB programme coordinators.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school states that it runs weekly well-being check-ins and supports students through a dedicated safeguarding team, a school psychologist and a school nurse; on the Il Cammino expedition students are accompanied around the clock by a staff member and a qualified Alpine guide; buses are run by vetted drivers and supervisors.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)95 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data85 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country