Ranking · Italy · Parma
← Back to the ranking

Istituto Tecnico Economico Macedonio Melloni

Italy Parma, Italy · est. 1883 · State
Illustration · Parma
69.6#274 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

ITE Macedonio Melloni is a state technical economic institute in central Parma, named after a 19th-century Parma physicist; in 2023 the school marked 140 years. It is a former commercial institute: the first two years are a common Amministrazione, Finanza e Marketing course, then students choose among three tracks - AFM, Relazioni Internazionali per il Marketing with three languages and Sistemi Informativi Aziendali. There are 1057 students in 45 classes, about a quarter without Italian citizenship. In the Cambridge International section, English as a Second Language and geography are taught in English to the IGCSE syllabus with native-speaker teachers in the first two years; if enough students wish, the course continues with A Level preparation. Teaching is in Italian, with some subjects in English in the Cambridge section.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, German, Spanish
School website
Class size
on average 23 students per class
About the fees The school is a state school and charges no tuition. The Cambridge section is fee-paying: 400 EUR per year. Families may pay a voluntary contribution (contributo volontario), whose amount the site does not give.
Admissions Enrolment in grade 1 follows the national Iscrizioni online procedure; open days are held in autumn and winter without booking. Interest in the Cambridge section is marked on the enrolment form and then confirmed; if applications exceed places, a ranking by the middle school final grade is drawn up. The second language (French, German or Spanish) is opened according to demand. About 25% of students are not Italian citizens, mostly from families long settled in the province; those who need it get Italian as a second language courses and personalised plans.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 istituto tecnico. Istituto tecnico economico, five years with the esame di Stato: a common Amministrazione, Finanza e Marketing biennio (English for all and a second language - French, German or Spanish), then the AFM, Relazioni Internazionali per il Marketing (three languages) and Sistemi Informativi Aziendali tracks. Cambridge International section: in grade 1 Cambridge IGCSE English as a Second Language 2 hours a week and Geography 1 hour, in grade 2 - 1 and 2 hours, in the morning, in English with native speakers and regular teachers; IGCSE exams at the end of grade 2. In biennio 2, optionally and with a minimum group, an afternoon A Level course: English as a First Language and Business Studies. All students can take afternoon C1, C2 and IELTS certificate courses. In other classes some topics are taught in a foreign language as decided by the class council.
Address Viale Maria Luigia 9/A, 43125 Parma

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. A fee-paying Cambridge section takes IGCSE ESL and Geography in the morning timetable of years 1-2 with native speakers, examined at the end of year 2.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: One building from 1964 in central Parma, easy to reach by public transport: 53 classrooms, an assembly hall, six computer labs, physics and chemistry labs, a library of about 8000 books, a bar (since 2017); 190 computers and tablets in the labs, 50 interactive whiteboards and screens in classrooms. The school is an accredited ICDL test centre.
Clubs and activities: Cambridge, IELTS, DELF and DELE Language Certifications · ICDL Certification · Erasmus+ (exchanges) · Reading Aloud · Drawing Workshop · Promoting Excellence (olympiads and competitions)

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
Cambridge section lessons are taught by native English speakers together with regular teachers. The PTOF names the staff responsible for projects, roles and departments.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A dedicated coordinator supports students with disabilities, learning difficulties and foreign students: personalised plans, Italian as a second language courses, integration activities, work with cooperatives of support educators.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
76
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Istituto di Istruzione Superiore Liceo "G. M. Dettori" - Liceo Artistico e Musicale "F. De André"Tempio Pausania · 69.6Liceo Statale Gian Battista VicoCorsico · 69.6Istituto Comprensivo Statale Agostino GemelliSant Agnello · 69.5Istituto di Istruzione Secondaria Superiore «Carlo Alberto Dalla Chiesa»Montefiascone · 69.5