← Back to the rankingLiceo Classico G. Garibaldi

Palermo, Italy · est. 1888 · State
Illustration · Palermo
Liceo Classico G. Garibaldi is one of the oldest state licei in Palermo: the ginnasio opened in the 1883-1884 school year and the liceo was established by royal decree in 1888. There are 1024 students in 51 classes. Besides the standard classical course the school offers paths with extra hours of art, biomedicine and English, and since the 2016-2017 school year Liceo Cambridge International sections, where biology, geography and English as a second language are studied under the Cambridge IGCSE programme. The course is part of the timetable: two extra curricular hours a week with three native-speaker teachers, whose hours are marked in the school timetable. Teaching is in Italian, the Cambridge subjects are in English. A separate Liceo Cambridge English path prepares for language exams with one extra hour.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
About the fees A state liceo: tuition is free. The Cambridge sections carry a family contribution of 250 EUR a year from the first to the third year and 100 EUR in the fourth year, covering all course textbooks.
Admissions Enrolment is online through the national system. For the Cambridge International sections a language certificate at A2 or higher, or a grade of 8 out of 10 at the end of middle school, is required, the course page says.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5, 51 classes. A five-year liceo classico. Cambridge International sections (sections C and G in the timetable) since the 2016-2017 school year: Cambridge IGCSE Biology, IGCSE Geography and IGCSE English as a Second Language, two extra curricular hours of English a week with three native-speaker teachers; the IGCSE is aimed at ages 14-16, the exit level of English is B2. The 2025-2026 timetable circular marks the hours of the Cambridge course teachers.
Address Via Canonico Rotolo 1, 90143 Palermo (PA)
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities
The school does not describe its premises on its website.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The Cambridge course is taught by three native English-speaking teachers together with the liceo's teachers.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country