Ranking · Italy · Villafranca Di Verona
← Back to the ranking

Liceo Statale Enrico Medi

Italy Villafranca Di Verona, Italy · est. 1967 · State
Illustration · Villafranca Di Verona
71.3#177 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Liceo Enrico Medi is a state liceo in Villafranca di Verona, south-west of Verona. It opened in 1967-1968 as a branch of the Messedaglia liceo in Verona, became independent in 1973-1974, has been in its building on Via Magenta since 1976 and has been named after the physicist Enrico Medi since 1977-1978. About 1210 students attend today. Tracks: liceo scientifico, liceo scientifico with a Cambridge International course, liceo scientifico opzione scienze applicate, liceo linguistico, liceo classico, liceo delle scienze umane and its economic and social option. Lessons are taught in Italian. In the Cambridge section the Italian curriculum is supplemented with English as a Second Language taught by a native speaker and Biology in English on Cambridge syllabuses, with Mathematics as an option, and students sit IGCSE exams. Languages are a strong focus: study stays in the UK or Ireland for all grade 3 classes, exchanges with schools in Germany and Spain, stays in France, CLIL modules and preparation for English, German, Spanish and French language certificates; students may also earn a US high school diploma online.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
German, French, Spanish, Latin
School website
Students
1210
About the fees The school is a state school and tuition is free. Families pay a voluntary contribution set by the school council for the liceo's projects; the school mentions this contribution without an amount. Teaching of the Cambridge course is funded by a separate family contribution: the school mentions the course surcharge without an amount; the school partly covers the organisational costs.
Admissions Grade 1 enrolment follows the state online procedure, which opens in January. Space in the building is limited, so the school council has set priorities: repeating students first, then those with siblings at the liceo, then residents of districts of the province of Verona by a list of municipalities (Villafranca and its southern hamlets, Valeggio sul Mincio, Mozzecane and others), with priority for students with disabilities. The website does not describe a separate selection for the Cambridge section. The school writes that it has foreign students and organises courses of Italian as a second language for them; its organisation chart includes a coordinator for foreign students.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 scuola secondaria di secondo grado. Five-year liceo on the Italian curriculum with the esame di Stato. Tracks: liceo scientifico, liceo scientifico Cambridge International (one section, corso A), liceo scientifico opzione scienze applicate, liceo linguistico (English, German, French or Spanish), liceo classico (Latin and Ancient Greek, since 2024-2025 with extra English and a native speaker in grades 1-4), liceo delle scienze umane and opzione economico-sociale. Cambridge IGCSE course in the scientific liceo: English as a Second Language for one hour a week with a native-speaker teacher in grades 1-4, Biology in English for an extra hour in grades 1, 3 and 4 and two hours in grade 2, Mathematics as an option. The weekly timetable is 28, 29, 31, 31 and 30 hours over five days. IGCSE exams are taken in Mathematics in grade 3 and in English and Biology in grade 4. The classical liceo ran the Cambridge course until the 2023-2024 intake. Students in grades 1-2 may optionally study online at the US Mater Academy High School and earn a US high school diploma.
Address Via Magenta 7/a, 37069 Villafranca di Verona (VR)

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. One section of the science liceo adds English as a Second Language and biology in English with a native speaker in years 1-4, with optional maths and IGCSE exams in years 3-4.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: One building on Via Magenta, where the liceo moved in 1976; the school itself writes that the main building lacks space and it cannot accept all applicants. According to the PTOF: chemistry, physics, computing and science labs, a classics library, an assembly hall, a multimedia podcast studio, a gym, a five-a-side pitch and an outdoor multi-use area; about 300 computers and tablets in classrooms and 33 coding robots. Under the Scuola 4.0 programme the school is turning classrooms into digital learning spaces and building labs for digital professions. A psychologist is available at the school every week.
Clubs and activities: Teatriamo - Theatre Workshop · School Sports Group · MEDI@VOX (online school newspaper) · InBOOKiamoci (reading club) · Film Club · Archaeology · Mathematics, Physics and Neuroscience Olympiads · Pi Day · ICDL · eTwinning

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
Cambridge subjects are taught by suitably trained Italian teachers and by native-speaker teachers, sometimes together in class; English as a Second Language is taught by a native speaker. In the linguistic liceo a native speaker teaches one hour a week of each language from grade 1. According to the PTOF many teachers hold B2 or C1 language certificates and support teachers are specialised. The school does not publish staff numbers.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
Every Friday morning a psychologist and psychotherapist is available at the school: consultations for students and teachers are confidential, and minors need written consent from both parents. The school runs a bullying and cyberbullying prevention project, a first aid course and safety training.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

I.I.S. "Genovesi - Da Vinci"Salerno · 71.3I.I.S.S. "Marco Polo"Bari · 71.3Istituto Comprensivo Perugia 11Perugia · 71.3Liceo Classico Statale Sperimentale Bertrand RussellRome · 71.3