Liceo Statale Giannina Milli is a state lyceum in Teramo named after a poet and educator of the Risorgimento era. Its history begins in 1862 with a girls' school for training primary teachers; it later became an Istituto Magistrale and, after the reforms of the 1990s and 2000s, a lyceum. It now has four tracks: liceo delle scienze umane, its economic-social option without Latin, liceo linguistico with three foreign languages and, since 2017, a liceo linguistico with the Cambridge International IGCSE option. Lessons are in Italian; in the Cambridge class English is increased by three hours a week, and in the upper years history and biology are taught in English. The lyceum is accredited in the Erasmus+ programme for 2021-2027 and prepares students for language exams in English, French, Spanish and German.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, Spanish, German, Latin
About the fees This is a state school and tuition is free. For the Cambridge option class the school asks families for a contribution; the school mentions this extra charge without an amount.
Admissions Enrolment in year 1 follows the state online procedure (Iscrizioni online) after completing middle school, within the dates announced each year by the ministry circular, usually in November. The school asks families for a contribution for the Cambridge track; the website does not mention selection for this class. The website does not address the admission of foreign students.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 scuola secondaria di secondo grado. Five-year lyceum following the Italian curriculum ending in the esame di Stato: liceo delle scienze umane, liceo delle scienze umane with the economic-social option (no Latin, second foreign language), liceo linguistico (three foreign languages: two to B2, the third to B1) and liceo linguistico with the Cambridge International IGCSE option. Cambridge: in a separate linguistic lyceum class, English is increased by 3 hours a week in years 1-2, ending with the IGCSE English as a Second Language exam; in years 3-4 history and natural sciences are taught in English for the IGCSE History and Biology exams in year 4.
Address Via G. Carducci 38, 64100 Teramo (TE)
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. One liceo linguistico class follows a Cambridge option: IGCSE English as a Second Language in years 1-2, then History and Biology taught in English in years 3-4, with IGCSE exams.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school works in a single building, its main site on Via Carducci in Teramo. It has laboratories with designated managers and a school radio, Radio Milli, with its own channel.
Clubs and activities: Radio Milli · Language Certification Courses
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The website names the head of the lyceum; the school history mentions a long-serving former head. Language and Cambridge courses are taught by the school's teachers; the school gives no teacher qualifications or numbers.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school publishes a protocol for preventing bullying and cyberbullying and a safety organisation chart under occupational safety law.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data64 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country