← Back to the rankingLiceo Scientifico Sportivo Musicale Attilio Bertolucci

Parma, Italy · est. 2008 · State
Illustration · Parma
Liceo Attilio Bertolucci is a state liceo in Parma which since 2008 has brought together the scientific liceo, the scientific liceo with a Cambridge IGCSE section, a scientific liceo with reinforced maths and computing (Matematica+), a sports liceo in five-year and four-year versions, and a music liceo run with the Arrigo Boito conservatory. About 1070 students attend. Lessons are taught in Italian; in the Cambridge section maths, English as a second language, business and Global Perspectives are taught in English, and students sit IGCSE exams at the school, which is an official Cambridge exam centre. The school is known for teaching innovation: it is a lead school of Indire's Avanguardie Educative movement, runs Erasmus+ and eTwinning projects, competes in debate championships and has for years prepared students for Cambridge English exams with native-speaker teachers.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
About the fees The school is a state school and tuition is free. The Cambridge IGCSE section requires a compulsory family contribution; the school gives no amount for it.
Admissions Grade 1 enrolment follows the state online procedure through the Piattaforma Unica (for 2026-2027 from 13 January to 14 February 2026). The Cambridge IGCSE section takes at most 27 students per class; if there are more applications, priority goes to a student with a disability (one per class), siblings of current students, then a ranking by average mark in the first term of grade 3 of lower secondary, with ties broken by English, maths and Italian. In the regular scientific liceo excess applications are settled by a draw. The music liceo requires an entrance audition. The inclusion plan provides support for newly arrived students who do not speak Italian; in 2025-2026 there are two such students.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 scuola secondaria di secondo grado. Five-year licei on the Italian curriculum with the esame di Stato: scientific (ordinamentale), scientific with a Cambridge IGCSE section, Matematica+ with computational thinking, sports (five-year and experimental four-year) and music. Cambridge section: English with a native speaker 3+2 hours in grades 1-2, 3+1 in grade 3, 3 hours in grades 4-5; maths 5 hours in grades 1-2 and 4 hours in grade 3 with one hour co-taught with a native-speaker tutor; Business Studies 2 hours in grades 3-4; IGCSE Mathematics and English as a Second Language exams in grade 3, Business in grade 4; the programme also names Global Perspectives and AS/A Level exams in some subjects. 29-32 hours a week, with one two-hour afternoon session in grades 3-4. The course is compulsory for all students in the section.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. In the Cambridge section of the science liceo, maths, business and Global Perspectives are taught in English, with IGCSE exams in years 3-4 alongside the Italian state curriculum.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Makerspace
Clubs and activities: Debate · Web Radio and Podcasting · Erasmus+ · eTwinning · Cambridge English PET, FCE and CAE Courses · EIPASS
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
In the Cambridge section some English and maths lessons are taught by native speakers, and native speakers also teach the Cambridge English exam courses; the school runs an annual teacher training plan. The school does not publish staff numbers or qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
There is a school psychologist; the inclusion plan describes support for students with special educational needs, learning difficulties and newly arrived students without Italian. There is a school-family co-responsibility pact and a whistleblowing procedure.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data76 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country