Ranking · Italy · Florence
← Back to the ranking

Liceo Scientifico Statale Antonio Gramsci

Italy Florence, Italy · est. 1972 · State
Illustration · Florence
67.7#338 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Liceo Gramsci is a state scientific liceo in Florence, the city's third scientific liceo: it opened in 1972 and has been named after Antonio Gramsci ever since. The building stands in the green area of San Salvi in the Campo di Marte quarter. Since the early 1980s the liceo has run an exchange with Newton North High School in Boston, from 1990 it had experimental courses with extra mathematics and bilingualism, and since 2011-2012 an applied sciences track. In 2019 the liceo became a Cambridge centre and since September 2020 it has run an IGCSE course: some subjects are taught in English by native-speaker teachers, and students obtain IGCSE certificates. Tracks for 2026-2027: the standard liceo scientifico, the liceo scientifico with the IGCSE course, the Liceo Matematico with the mathematics department of the University of Florence, the liceo scientifico with applied sciences and a STEM-strengthened variant (an extra hour of physics in grades 2-5). Lessons are taught in Italian. The liceo takes part in Erasmus and in the European Parliament Ambassador School programme and runs a rhetoric workshop.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
Latin
School website
About the fees The school is a state school and tuition is free.
Admissions Grade 1 enrolment for all tracks, including the IGCSE course, follows the state online procedure (Iscrizioni on-line) within dates the ministry usually announces in November; after lower secondary school ends, enrolment is completed at the liceo. On its open pages the school does not describe a separate selection for the IGCSE course.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 scuola secondaria di secondo grado. Five-year liceo scientifico on the Italian curriculum with the esame di Stato. Tracks for 2026-2027: liceo scientifico di ordinamento (with Latin), the IGCSE Cambridge course within the standard liceo scientifico, Liceo Scientifico matematico (more mathematics hours, labs with the University of Florence, the national Licei matematici network), liceo scientifico opzione scienze applicate (since 2011-2012, without Latin, with computing) and a STEM-strengthened variant (an extra hour of physics in grades 2-5). IGCSE course since September 2020: subjects in English are taught by native-speaker teachers who are subject specialists, and students obtain Cambridge IGCSE certificates; the list of subjects is given in the letter to parents.
Address Via del Mezzetta 7, 50135 Firenze

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. Since 2020 the science lyceum has run an IGCSE course in which native-speaker specialists teach some subjects in English and students earn IGCSE certificates.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Part of the school website is closed to automated reading.. We have asked the school for the data directly.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Verba volant. Rhetoric Workshop · Erasmus · EPAS European Parliament Ambassador School · Exchange with Newton North High School, Boston · Friends of School and Sport

Teaching staff

Part of the school website is closed to automated reading.. We have asked the school for the data directly.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
There is psychological counselling for students and for staff, a help desk for students with specific learning difficulties (DSA) and a study method help desk.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
60
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
73
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Istituto di Istruzione Superiore "Charles Darwin"Rome · 67.5Liceo Carmine SylosBitonto · 67.5Lycée Stendhal de MilanMilan · 67.5Saint Denis SchoolTurin · 67.9