Ranking · Italy · Turin
← Back to the ranking

Saint Denis School

Italy Turin, Italy · Private
Illustration · Turin
67.9#337 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Saint Denis School is a private bilingual Italian-English school in Turin that has operated since the late 1970s: first in the hills above the city, from 1981 in a villa on the banks of the Po, and now also in the city centre. It has a kindergarten, a primary school and a middle school (Saint Denis Middle School), all three paritaria and following the Italian state curriculum. In the kindergarten all morning activities (20 hours a week) are in English; in primary school English takes 13-15 hours a week and French 1-2 hours, alongside Cambridge Primary programmes; in middle school Cambridge Lower Secondary programmes are added to the Italian curriculum - English, mathematics, science, digital literacy, music and ethics are taught in English, 14 hours a week in total, or 20 hours in the Plus option. Students take Cambridge Progression tests and Cambridge Checkpoint exams, as well as Cambridge English and French DELF language exams.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $5 875–6 214 a year
5 200–5 500 EUR
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · National programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French
School website
Registration fee
≈ $328
290 EUR
About the fees Fees for the 2025-2026 school year: kindergarten 5200 EUR per year full day (7:30-18:30) or 4900 EUR half day; primary 5500 EUR; middle school 5500 EUR (Cambridge International option). Fees include before and after school care, the snack and lunch (in middle school, lunch on the two long days). For the second and further children fees are reduced to 4900 EUR in kindergarten and 5200 EUR in primary and middle school.
Admissions Enrolment is via the website form or by phone, and the family visits the school; on enrolment parents sign a co-responsibility agreement. The school names no selection or test. The school admits foreigners: there is Italian as a second language support for foreign students and families, and the self-evaluation report says enrolment requests come from foreign families too.
Stages and year groups Scuola dell'infanzia paritaria bilingue: three years, morning activities in English 20 hours a week, afternoons in Italian; the oldest group (Preschool) prepares for Cambridge Primary. Scuola primaria paritaria with a language focus: subjects in Italian, English 13-15 hours a week, French 1-2 hours; Cambridge Primary programmes in English, Science, Digital Literacy, Global Perspectives, Art and Design and Music. Scuola secondaria di primo grado paritaria internazionale (30 hours a week, two long days until 16:30; ending with the esame di Stato del primo ciclo): in Italian - Italian, history, geography, art, civics, PE, religion; in English to Cambridge Lower Secondary programmes - English, Mathematics, Science, Digital Literacy, Music, Ethics (alternative to religion), plus Global Perspectives; French 2 hours. Two options: Cambridge International - 14 hours a week in English, Cambridge International Plus - 20 hours. Cambridge assessment: Cambridge Progression tests during the course and Cambridge Checkpoint at the end of primary and middle school.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge Primary, Cambridge Lower Secondary. Primary pupils follow Cambridge Primary alongside the Italian curriculum; in middle school 14 hours a week (20 in the Plus option) are taught in English under Cambridge Lower Secondary, ending with Checkpoint.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Swimming Course · Dance Course · Aikido Course · Karate Course · Fencing Course · Yoga Course · Keyboard, Guitar and Drums Course · Choir Course · English Theatre Workshop · French Language Workshop · Latin Workshop · Coding Workshop

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school works with native-speaker teachers of English and French and with teachers holding degrees in foreign languages; in middle school each teacher teaches in their own subject classroom. Teachers use the Cambridge International training platform and materials.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school works with a psychologist; the Via San Massimo building has an adult and paediatric defibrillator (Scuola Cardioprotetta project). Families sign a co-responsibility agreement; the menu is approved by the local health service.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
83
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Istituti De AmicisMilan · 68Istituto Comprensivo Statale MaglieMaglie · 68Teodoro Monticelli International SchoolGiugliano In Campania · 68Villaggio Scolastico "M. Montessori"Rome · 68