← Back to the rankingLiceum Ogólnokształcące z Oddziałami Dwujęzycznymi im. Adama Mickiewicza w Piastowie

Piastow, Poland · est. 1945 · State
Illustration · Piastow
A public four-year secondary school in Piastów near Warszawa, founded in 1945; it has been in the building on ul. 11 Listopada since 1952. The school describes itself as a liceum with bilingual classes, where English is the second language of instruction. For 2026-2027 it admits an international class (pre-IB, bilingual), bilingual mathematics-physics and biology-chemistry classes and a non-bilingual mathematics-geography class. International class students spend two years in the Polish system with school-designed programmes and then take the IB Diploma Programme in years 3-4: the school began preparing for authorisation in 2020, was authorised in 2022, held its first IB exams in spring 2026, and all graduates passed. In the IB class all subjects except Polish and foreign languages are taught in English. Classes are sponsored by universities: SGH, faculties of the Warsaw University of Technology and UKSW. The best students take the FCE free of charge.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Polish, English
Languages taught
German, French, Spanish, Russian, Latin
About the fees Tuition is free: this is a public liceum run by the town of Piastów. Parents pay for the IB Diploma Programme in 2026-2028: an entry fee of 1000 PLN and 5000 PLN for the programme (in two payments of 2500 PLN or 10 payments of 500 PLN) to the school foundation, plus the full cost of the final IB exams set by the IB (2400 PLN in the 2025 session) and textbooks (about 300-350 PLN per book).
Admissions Admission to year 1 is through the electronic system of the Mazowiecki Kurator Oświaty, by points from certificate grades and the egzamin ósmoklasisty; for bilingual classes and the IB DP preparatory class all candidates take an English language competence test (only English olympiad laureates are exempt), and olympiad laureates have priority; an extra summer round is held if places remain. Year 3 IB DP is open to international class students who completed the preparatory programme, with grade requirements in English (at least good), profile subjects, mathematics and conduct and attendance of at least 85%; if places remain, an internal exam in mathematics, Polish, English and one profile subject is held, also open to students from other schools (all exams except Polish are in English). There is no entry to DP year 2 (year 4). Under its statute the school educates foreign citizens and Polish citizens who studied in other countries' school systems; foreign students can receive psychological and educational support on the same terms as Polish students.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-4 liceum. Polish national curriculum (podstawa programowa) with the matura; bilingual classes with English as the second language of instruction and a bilingual-level English matura. Oddział międzynarodowy: years 1-2 are a pre-IB preparatory track (bilingual, school-designed programmes), years 3-4 the IB Diploma Programme leading to the IB Diploma (authorised 2022, first graduates 2026). DP subjects for 2026-2027: Polish (group 1), English at higher level (group 2), history, geography or ESS, biology, chemistry, physics or ESS, mathematics AA, and in group 6 German or French ab initio. Profiles for 2026-2027: international, mathematics-physics and biology-chemistry (bilingual), mathematics-geography (non-bilingual).
Address ul. 11 Listopada 2A, 05-820 Piastów
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Diploma Programme. The IB track runs in the international classes of a Polish liceum: the Diploma in grades 3-4, alongside the Polish curriculum leading to the matura.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results The first IB DP exams took place in April-May 2026: according to the school, all graduates passed above the world average. The school does not publish detailed scores.
Where leavers go: University of Warsaw (UW) · Warsaw University of Technology (PW) · Medical University of Warsaw · SGH Warsaw School of Economics (SGH) · Warsaw University of Life Sciences (SGGW) · Cardinal Stefan Wyszyński University in Warsaw (UKSW)
According to the school, 90% of its nearly 3000 graduates have completed degrees at public universities; the Warsaw universities listed are the most popular choices.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: A modern energy-efficient building (photovoltaic panels, geothermal heat pumps, ventilation with air filtering), language, mathematics and computer rooms with multimedia equipment, and laboratories. The Polish Olympians sports hall of 1174 m² with seating for 300, divisible into three sectors, with four changing rooms; an outdoor floodlit artificial pitch of 780 m² for football, volleyball, handball, tennis and badminton. There is a school library, school pedagogues and a psychologist. It is a day school with no boarding.
Clubs and activities: "Adaś" Student Cooperative · School Public Opinion Research Centre · School Newspaper · Volunteering at LOM · Student Council · GeoEkoLab · Polish-German Exchange · Erasmus+
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school publishes a named list of 65 staff for 2026-2027 with their subjects: they include PhD holders, bilingual-level English teachers, teachers of mathematics, biology and geography in English, IB teachers (chemistry, mathematics, German, TOK), the IB coordinator, a psychologist, pedagogues, a sociotherapist and a careers adviser.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has two pedagogues and a psychologist with daily office hours, a sociotherapist and a mediator; it has a safety policy and an educational and prevention programme.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country