The British School Warsaw (TBS Warsaw) is a private British international school in Warsaw for children aged 2.5 to 18, founded in 1992; its founder is Iwona Thomas. It opened with 35 students and now has more than 1100 from more than 60 nationalities; it has been IB accredited for more than 20 years. Every subject is taught in English. Early years follow the British Early Years Foundation Stage, primary follows the National Curriculum for England and the International Primary Curriculum (the school calls itself the only school in Poland with IPC accreditation), secondary follows the National Curriculum for England with IGCSE exams at the end of Year 11, and in Years 12-13 students choose the IB Diploma Programme or A-Levels. A one-year Pre-IB course prepares students joining the IB from other systems. Polish students in Years 2-11 study Polish under the Polish core curriculum and receive Polish school certificates. The school has two campuses: the Early Years Centre in Old Mokotów and the main campus in Sadyba with a separate building for senior students.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $14 278–35 135 a year
55 290–136 060 PLN
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · Pearson Edexcel · IPC
Admits from
2.5 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Polish, French, German, Spanish
Class size
Up to 16 children in Pre-Nursery, up to 18 in Nursery, up to 20 in Reception and Year 1, up to 22 in primary and secondary
About the fees Fees for the 2026-2027 school year are paid in three instalments (40%, 40% and 20%), per year by term: Pre-Nursery 55290 PLN, Nursery 68550, Reception 81800, Years 1-2 113100, Years 3-6 123330, Years 7-9 128760, Years 10-11 133730, Years 12-13 136060 PLN. Paying the full year by 30 June 2026 gives a 4.5% discount: the year then costs from 52800 PLN in Pre-Nursery to 129940 PLN in Years 12-13. For new students the first term fee is 4000 PLN higher. Students joining mid-term pay pro rata. Fees cover all teaching, most clubs and the MIT, Juilliard and UNICEF programmes.
Admissions Admissions run all year for all year groups, subject to places, with no deadline. Steps: enquiry on the website, a campus tour or online meeting, the online application with recent school reports (for primary and secondary), then a meeting or assessment. Early years: a family meeting with the Head of the Early Years Centre, no assessment; Years 2-6: an interview with the Head of Primary or Deputy Head, no assessment; Years 7-10 and Year 12: a CAT4 cognitive ability test and an interview, with additional testing for some students, and in Year 12 a discussion of IB suitability and subject choices. Students are not normally admitted to Year 11 or Year 13, except transfers from other IGCSE and IB schools with matching subjects. A decision is given within two weeks of receiving documents and test results; if there is no place but the child meets the criteria, a waiting list place is offered. The school accepts children with special educational needs and children with no English, supported by an English as an Additional Language programme. The minimum age is 2.5 years. Students come from more than 60 nationalities.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-Nursery, Nursery, Reception, Year 1-13. Early Years Foundation Stage (Pre-Nursery, Nursery, Reception, ages 2.5-5); primary (Years 1-6, ages 5-11) under the National Curriculum for England and the International Primary Curriculum (IPC); Middle School - Key Stage 3 (Years 7-9) under the National Curriculum for England; Upper School - Key Stage 4 (Years 10-11), a two-year IGCSE programme with exams at the end of Year 11 with Cambridge International Education, Pearson Edexcel and AQA; in Years 12-13 a choice of the IB Diploma Programme or A-Levels (3-4 subjects, currently Psychology, Business, Geography, Travel and Tourism). Pre-IB is a one-year preparatory course for ages 15-16 combining IGCSE and IB subjects. Polish students in Years 2-11 study Polish under the Polish core curriculum and receive annual Polish school certificates; for others Polish is a foreign language from Year 1.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeCambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmePearson · authorised programmeCOBIS · accreditationNord Anglia Education · school is part of the networkThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Diploma Programme. In Years 10-11 students sit IGCSE through Cambridge, Pearson Edexcel and AQA. The school is an accredited member of COBIS.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board
It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.
What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →COBISCouncil of British International Schools
An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →IPC
International Primary Curriculum: a British primary school programme for children aged 5 to 11. It teaches through themes that draw subjects together rather than through separate subjects; it is published by the International Curriculum Association, formerly Fieldwork Education.
What this means for this school. This is a programme for the primary stage, not an accreditation of the school: the organisation sells it to schools and trains their teachers, but it does not check the quality of teaching at a particular school and keeps no public register of the schools working to it. There is no outside register to check it against, so the entry comes from the school's own words or from the record of its accrediting organisation. The programme has no leaving certificate: at the end of primary school a child moves on to the middle stage, and it is that stage which decides what they finish with.
Nord Anglia Educationschool network
A group of international schools of the full cycle, day and boarding. The numbers on its site diverge: the "About Nord Anglia" page speaks of 89 schools in 37 countries, the "Our schools" and "Our global network" pages - of 90, the "All schools" page - of "90+"; pupils are more than 100,000 everywhere. Whether the group owns the schools, manages them under contract or gives its methodology under licence is not said on its pages. The year of foundation and the country of registration are not named there.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Average IB score
35 (world average 30.88)
Exam results IB Diploma 2026: average score 35.4 (world average 30.9), top score the maximum 45 points, 32% of students scored 40 points or more. IGCSE 2026: more than 50% of grades were top grades (A* and A); share of top grades by subject: Polish 98%, First Language English 95%, Biology 91%, German 83%, Chemistry and Physics 82% each, Mathematics 66%, Spanish 63%, History 61%, French 58%, English Literature 51%.
Where leavers go: University of Oxford · University of Cambridge · Princeton University · Stanford University · Yale University · Imperial College London · University College London (UCL) · National University of Singapore
The school lists world top 100 universities its graduates enter. In Years 12-13 students receive individual help with course selection, application strategy, personal statements and interview preparation.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Clubs and activities: Art Clubs · Building Club · Book Club · Change Makers Club · Chess Club · Creative Writing Club · D&D Club · Dance Clubs · Debate Club · Drama & Drama Production Clubs · IB & IGCSE Support Club · Language Clubs · Music Clubs · Science Clubs · Sport Clubs · Young Enterprise Club · Model United Nations · Student Council · Eco Team
Summer programme away from campus: . The school runs no camp of its own on campus
The school offers the Summer Performing Arts with Juilliard programmes in the USA: music, dance and drama designed and taught by The Juilliard School. Every year students in Years 5-13 go on residential Green Camps across Poland during term time: water sports, cycling, high ropes and orienteering.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: A teaching degree or UK PGCE or equivalent, several years' experience; most are native English speakers
The school hires only experienced teachers with a teaching degree or a UK PGCE (or the equivalent from their home country); most teachers are native English speakers. All early years and primary teachers have phonics training. Early years and primary classes have one or two teaching assistants.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A dedicated pastoral and safeguarding team is responsible for student safety and wellbeing. From Year 7 students take Personal, Social, Health and Economic (PSHE) lessons covering finance, mindfulness, healthy living and global citizenship. On the Global Campus online platform students can monitor their own wellbeing.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)89 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)100 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country