Lundby Efterskole is a private efterskole, a boarding school, in the Grundtvig and Kold tradition in the village of Lundby in southern Zealand, a 5-minute walk from the station and an hour by train from Copenhagen. It was established in 2001 and has taught since the 2002-2003 school year; it occupies the main building of a 1915 agricultural school and has its own small wood and land by the fjords. Only grade 10 is taught, with about 125 places. Each student chooses one of six creative lines: theatre, horses (students may bring their own horse), sport (Sport, Motion og Sundhed), music, e-sports, art and expression; there are also four periods of electives of 7 weeks each. Danish, maths and English lessons lead to the compulsory FP10 exam; German, physics and chemistry and Cambridge English with an IGCSE level exam are optional. At the start of the year everyone goes to Bornholm, and in spring the whole school spends a week skiing in Austria; the ski trip is included in the fee.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Danish
Languages taught
English, German
Students
about 125 (100, 123 and 125 places on different pages)
Registration fee
≈ $151
1 000 DKK
About the fees An efterskole charges one weekly fee for teaching, accommodation, meals and the ski trip. In 2026-2027 the fee is 2950 DKK per week for 42 weeks, that is 123900 DKK a year before state support; in 2025-2026 it was 2775 DKK. Payment is in instalments from 1 July to 1 April. The Cambridge English exam (2500 DKK on the price page, 2200 DKK on the subject page), a hunting licence (about 3500 DKK) and keeping one's own horse (825 DKK per week for 38 weeks in 2025-2026) are paid separately. Families in difficulty can get local support from the school of up to 500 DKK per week.
Admissions Families must first visit the school at an information meeting or on a tour: registrations without a visit are cancelled. Registration is online with the MitID (Danish digital ID) of the parent living at the same address as the student; an administration fee of 1000 DKK is paid on registration, and everyone registered goes on a waiting list. About 2 years before the start the student is invited to a clarification talk; if admitted, an enrollment fee of 3000 DKK is paid, and in December before the start a confirmation payment of 6000 DKK, which counts towards the last instalment. The school is for grade 10 only: students must have taken FP9 exams in Danish, English and maths. The school says directly that it has not had good experiences with students with eating disorders, school refusal, anxiety, depression or who have not completed grade 9; students with an autism spectrum diagnosis need a personal talk before admission. State student support is available to students with Danish citizenship.
Stages and year groups Grades 10. Grade 10 only, with the compulsory FP10 exam: Danish, maths and English are compulsory, German and physics and chemistry optional; French is not offered; extra lessons in Danish, maths and English are available for those who need support. Cambridge: Cambridge English is optional, preparing for an IGCSE level exam; a group opens if at least 15 students sign up; registration is binding, in the school contract before the start of the year; it is taught by a teacher from Canada. The certificate usually arrives in October of the following school year. The core curriculum is Danish.
Address Efterskolevej 8, 4750 Lundby
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre: an elective in English leading to the Cambridge IGCSE exam (the group opens with at least 15 students). The main curriculum is Danish, with the folkeskole exams.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
✓Theatre or assembly hall
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
✓Boarding
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio
Campus: The 1915 main building, a former agricultural school, stands in natural surroundings near the Dybsø and Avnø fjords; the school has its own small wood and land. There is a new stable, a riding hall with international dimensions and an outdoor arena, a theatre hall with stage, lights and sound, a music room and rehearsal room, an e-sports room, a media room, a creative workshop, the school's own sports hall and a fitness room, a football pitch, a parkour course, a beach volleyball court, archery, shelters and a fire pit, and a smartboard in every classroom. Students live in rooms for 2-4, with boys and girls separate. The kitchen serves 6 meals a day and bakes all its own bread. Lundby station is a 5-minute walk away, and Copenhagen an hour by train.
Clubs and activities: Teater (theatre line) · Hest (horse line) · Sport, Motion og Sundhed (sport, exercise and health line) · Musik (music line) · eSport (eSports line) · Kunst og Udtryk (art and expression line) · Badminton · Løbetræning (running training) · Fodbold (football) · Styrketræning (strength training) · Film og foto (film and photo) · Beachvolley (beach volleyball) · Bueskydning (archery) · Amerikansk fodbold (American football) · Bogklub (book club) · Wellness · Jagttegn (hunting licence)
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers13
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The website lists 13 teachers, including two riding instructors (dressage and show jumping); the head of school helps with guidance and Danish, and the deputy head teaches maths. Cambridge English is taught by a teacher from Canada who has worked at the school for 21 years and runs the stable. The school has two education counsellors and two dietary advisers.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has an anti-bullying strategy and rules: attendance at lessons and meals is compulsory, alcohol and drugs are strictly banned, the school is smoke-free, and bullying and threats are forbidden. Every evening at 21:45 students hand in their phones. Boys and girls live separately. A night watchman is on duty, and sick students go to him; the duty phone is open on weekdays from 16:00 to 9:00 and at weekends.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median83 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country