Sædding Efterskole is a Christian efterskole, a boarding school, in West Jutland near the village of Rækker Mølle between Skjern and Videbæk, for 86-87 students in grades 9 and 10 (a few grade 8 students are taught together with grade 9). The school began on 1 August 1974; it was founded by people from Luthersk Missionsforening and is still linked to that organisation, whose regional branches elect the board. Students do not have to believe in God, but there are daily morning and evening devotions, and on Sundays the school often attends the local church. The programme is Danish: grade 9 with FP9 exams, 10. Gym for future upper secondary students and 10. Erhverv with work placements and career orientation, both with FP10 exams; students with dyslexia have a separate Danish class, LÆS+. As a year-long elective, students can take Cambridge IGCSE English as a second language with a Cambridge exam. Students choose a line (World Wide with a trip to New York or Beijing, the music line Ind i musikken, art and design, craft and building, sport) and many electives; every year there is a ski trip and a trip to a European city at no extra cost, everyone runs in the morning three times a week, and the school is completely smoke-free.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Danish
Languages taught
English, German
Students
86 (in 2025-2026, 86 students started and one more joined later)
Registration fee
≈ $453
3 000 DKK
About the fees An efterskole charges one combined fee for meals, accommodation, teaching materials, the annual ski trip and the trip to a European city. For 2026-2027 the weekly price is 2870 DKK before the subsidy, that is 120540 DKK for 42 weeks. The state subsidy depends on household income two years before the start: according to the school's 2026-2027 table, families pay from 1355 to 2140 DKK a week, from 56910 to 89880 DKK for the year. Discounts: 15000 DKK in the second year for everyone who stays two years, and 15000 DKK for one of two siblings attending at the same time (discounts are not combined). Families can apply for local efterskole support. The driving course is paid separately at the driving school's prices.
Admissions Registration is free through the form on the website - for grade 9, grade 10 or both years; about 10 months before the start an enrolment fee of 3000 DKK is charged. Before deciding, families are invited to a tour or to the Efterskole Day. Students do not have to be Christian, but they must accept the school's Christian profile and its rules. Students with special needs are admitted in individual cases, after a thorough interview and with documentation from a school psychologist or psychiatrist, as this is a general, not a special efterskole. The school says it often has students from the Faroe Islands, Greenland and other countries: all international students move their registration to Ringkøbing-Skjern municipality and receive a Danish CPR number, teaching is in Danish, and Danish as a second language is offered. The state subsidy is available to Faroese and Greenlandic students and to students who are Danish citizens or have at least one parent with Danish citizenship.
Stages and year groups Each student has an individual timetable. Grade 9: 32 lessons a week of compulsory subjects (Danish, mathematics, physics/chemistry, English, German, social studies, geography, history, biology), a project assignment, Christian studies, joint sessions, a line and electives - up to 44 lessons in total; FP9 exams, except Christian studies, which the school teaches to its own curriculum. 10. Gym: FP10 exams in Danish, English, German, mathematics and physics and the compulsory self-chosen assignment (OSO); 10. Erhverv: Danish, English, mathematics, several work placements and an externally assessed project; grade 10 has 28 lessons of compulsory subjects a week. LÆS+ is a Danish class for students with dyslexia. Cambridge IGCSE English is a year-long elective for grades 9 and 10, 3 lessons a week on top of regular English, taught only in English; the school is approved by Cambridge and offers Cambridge IGCSE English as a second language with a three-part exam: an oral part recorded and sent to Cambridge, a reading and writing paper and a listening test.
Address Astrupvej 3, 6900 Skjern
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre: a full-year subject in Cambridge IGCSE English as a Second Language, with a final exam. The main curriculum is Danish, with the folkeskole exams.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
✓Boarding
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio
Clubs and activities: Fodbold (football) · Volley · Badminton · Springgymnastik (trampoline gymnastics) · Marathon · Håndbold (handball) · CrossFit · Girls' Sport · Fodbold Extra (extra football) · Volley Extra (extra volleyball) · Ski Extra (second ski trip) · Jesus Extra (Bible study) · Band · Begynderguitar (beginner guitar) · Brugsklaver (practical piano) · Kor (choir) · Keramik (ceramics) · Glaskunst (glasswork) · Design (sewing and fashion design) · Motorlære (engines and mechanics) · Markræs (field racing) · Kok-amok (cooking) · Digital foto (digital photography) · Kørekort til bil (car driving licence) · Science og Tech (science and technology) · Filmproduktion (film production) · Mad over bål (campfire cooking) · Outdoor (wilderness survival) · Skak (chess) · Escape room · Gøgl (juggling and tricks) · TopMat (advanced maths)
Summer programme away from campus: . The school runs no camp of its own on campus
In summer the school runs a 14-day residential confirmation course (Konfirmandkursus): lessons, electives (jewellery, baking, football, engines, field racing) and evening programmes; the 2026 course ended on 11 July with a church service and lunch with families.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers10
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school says it has just under 20 staff, including 10 teachers. Teachers' qualifications are listed on the site: teaching degrees (VIA University College, Aarhus and others), a bachelor's degree in physics from the University of Copenhagen, a master's in sport and health, and a social educator. Each student belongs to a contact group of 7-8 students with its own teacher and has five conversations a year with the contact teacher, mainly about well-being. Two guidance counsellors work separately with grade 9 and grade 10.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has an anti-bullying policy and house rules, and the site is completely smoke-free. A duty teacher sleeps at the school every night so that students can always reach an adult; every student has a contact teacher and five well-being conversations a year. For longer-term help the school refers students to partner therapists and psychologists (by agreement with parents and at their cost); residents of Ringkøbing-Skjern municipality get 5 free hours with a therapist from the municipality. Boys may not enter the girls' corridor, and vice versa. The ExamCookie monitoring program is used in exams.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median83 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country