← Back to homeLycée Français de Séville

Sevilla, Spain · Private
Illustration · Sevilla
Lycée Français de Séville, on its own site Lycée Français International de Séville, is a private secular French school on the Isla de la Cartuja in Seville, in the Edificio de la Prensa. It is run by the French education group Odyssey Education, which has twelve schools around the world, and within the network of French schools abroad it is an AEFE partner. The school teaches French curricula from petite section to terminale, that is from three to the baccalauréat, and takes children, it says, from two or three. It calls itself trilingual: French is the main language and accounts for 60% of teaching, the other 40% is in English and Spanish. From the first year of primary the Andalusian curricula for Spanish language and literature and for social studies are added, so a leaver receives both the French baccalauréat and the Spanish Bachillerato by equivalence; the school prepares pupils for Selectividad if they wish. Since June 2025 the school has been accredited as a Cambridge International School and is an official centre for Cambridge English examinations and for DELF and DALF in French. In the upper years there is a European section in English, where part of mathematics and physics is taught in English. Pupils come from more than 25 nationalities: 65% are Spanish, 20% French-speaking and 15% from other countries. After lessons there are the sports association, twelve paid extracurricular activities now open to children from outside the school as well, and the school web radio. The school is preparing to move to a new campus on the Cartuja next to Torre Sevilla, which will house the Centre Français de Technologie et d'Innovation with a fab lab.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · French programme
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
French, Spanish, English
Students
314 pupils according to the AEFE record. The school itself gives no total on its site, but describes its make-up: more than 65% of pupils are Spanish, 20% French-speaking and 15% from other countries, 25 nationalities in all.
Admissions The school has announced admissions open for the 2026/27 school year. The steps are: a visit, an information meeting, an application for a place, then documents through the EDUKA platform and to the secretariat. The admission criterion is the school record: the school asks for the latest marks or reports, and from applicants to secondary also a letter of motivation in which the pupil explains why they are choosing this school. A place is confirmed only after the first registration fee is paid. Children transferring from another French school abroad have priority. The school does not require French on entry: for non-French-speakers there are French as a foreign language sessions of about two hours a week in small groups during school time, from grande section, and where needed support in Spanish as a foreign language. The school accepts pupils from other countries and writes that it welcomes children of every origin; children of 25 nationalities study there.
Stages and year groups Grades petite section (age 3) - terminale. The school runs the full French cycle in one building. Maternelle has three levels: petite section at 3-4, moyenne section at 4-5, grande section at 5-6; the youngest have a nap after lunch. Then come élémentaire, collège from sixième to troisième with the DNB examination, and lycée with seconde, première and terminale. In première a pupil takes three specialities out of five: history and geopolitics, mathematics, physics and chemistry, life and earth sciences, economics and social sciences, and keeps two in terminale. In seconde there are 29 hours of compulsory lessons a week, up to 3 hours of options and 12-16 hours of private study. From seconde there is a European section in English. Timetable: in maternelle and élémentaire from 9:00 to 12:30 and from 14:30 to 16:30, on Wednesday from 9:00 to 13:00; in secondary from 08:30 to 12:30 and from 13:30 to 16:30, in première and terminale until 17:30 or 18:30 for the European section. The school does not state class sizes.
Address Avenida Carlos III s/n, Edificio de la Prensa, Isla de la Cartuja, 41092 Sevilla, España
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
AEFE · accreditationCambridge · authorised programmeMission laïque française · school is part of the networkschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
AEFEAgency for French Education Abroad
It runs the network of French schools worldwide, while the accreditation itself, the homologation, is granted by the French education ministry and inspected by French state inspectors. A leaver from a homologated school moves into a school in France without an entrance examination. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which stages - from the early years programme for three-year-olds up to A-Level - this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →French programme
The state programme of France. A school is homologated by the French ministry of education, and a leaver may move into a school in France without entrance tests. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.
What this means for this school. Which year groups of this school are covered by homologation - only the primary ones, or all the way to the final year - is not stated here. The difference matters: it decides whether the school takes a child through to the French baccalaureate or hands them on to another school halfway.
Mission laïque françaiseschool network
Mission laïque française (MLF) is a French non-profit association founded in 1902; its school network is called Réseau mlfmonde. The network gives different figures on its own pages - 108 schools in 38 countries on some, 107 schools in 37 countries on another, with more than 61,000 students in both cases - and we quote both. In Spain the network lists 10 lycées, in Alicante, Murcia, Palma, Reus, Seville, Telde (Gran Canaria), Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Valladolid, Villanueva de la Cañada (Madrid) and Zaragoza. In a notice dated 21 September 2026, MLF writes that since 1 September 2026 the day-to-day management of its Spanish schools has been entrusted to the association AFLEC-GEE under a management mandate, refers to 9 schools, and says the legal transfer of each will be completed by 31 July 2028 at the latest. The notice does not say which of the ten schools is not among the nine. The network's site is mlfmonde.org.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Where leavers go: Utah Tech University
The school does not publish a list of universities. One leaver is named: she is studying nursing at Utah Tech University in the United States on a sports scholarship. In general terms the school writes that the French baccalauréat opens universities in France, Spain and other countries, and that a leaver enters a Spanish university with marks converted into a nota de acceso; the school prepares those who wish for the specific part of Selectividad, which adds up to 4 points to a mark out of 14. There is also an alumni association that helps pupils choose a career.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school occupies the Edificio de la Prensa on the Isla de la Cartuja in Seville. Its own kitchen cooks every day from fresh, partly organic produce from local suppliers; the menus are drawn up by a dietitian specialising in paediatric clinical nutrition, and there are menus for allergies and special diets. The canteen is called the Bistrot du Lycée, and the Ô Delice cafeteria is open both to the public and to the upper years, from 8:30 to 17:00. The school has a school bus and its own music school. The school is building a new campus on the Cartuja next to Torre Sevilla together with the Centre Français de Technologie et d'Innovation, which will have a fab lab for pupils, students and start-ups of the technology park; construction is due to begin early in 2027, and the school gives the move as September 2027 in one place and 2028 in another.
Clubs and activities: Sports association (AS) · Badminton · Handball · Flamenco · Homework help · Creative club · Self-defence · K-Pop · Ballet · Table tennis · Karate · Robotics · Skating (patinage) · Webradio · Music school
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school gives its staff as numbers: about 30 teachers and 15 members of administrative, school-life, maintenance and service staff, and lists them by name and by stage. The French part of the programme, it says, is taught only by native French speakers, and a large share of them are permanent state teachers of the French ministry of education. Spanish in maternelle is taught by a teacher approved by the Junta de Andalucía, and in maternelle the teachers work with early-years assistants. The English teachers are approved by the University of Cambridge for its examinations, the French teachers by the French state for DELF and DALF. The school does not state the pupil-teacher ratio or class sizes.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a Pôle Inclusion: a coordinator for pupils with special educational needs, a psychologist, a speech therapist and a dietitian-nutritionist, who work together with pupils who have difficulties. Teachers set differentiated work according to each child's needs. The school's internal regulations are posted on the site as a separate document. The school names on its site no video surveillance, no security guards, no access control, no medical room and no written child protection policy.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median84 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country