← Back to homeLycée Français Jean Mermoz

Dubai, UAE · Private
Illustration · Dubai
Lycée Français Jean Mermoz teaches the French national curriculum in Dubai across two sites. The north site stands in Al Quoz 1 and is built on a modular plan: each primary year group is gathered into a module of four classrooms with its own extra activity room and its own washrooms, so that children lose no time moving about and classes of the same age work together. The furniture was chosen as a separate pedagogical decision, with ergonomics, mobility and flexible rearrangement in mind. The north campus has two libraries, two science and technology laboratories, two outdoor sports fields, a canteen, a 300-seat auditorium, two gymnasiums and a semi-Olympic swimming pool. The south site - Lycée Français Jean Mermoz South - opened on Hessa Street for the 2024/2025 year and took in all the primary years from Petite Section to CM2, and from September 2025 it takes the middle and senior years as well. The school starts English early and in earnest: five periods a week from Petite Section on the Cambridge curriculum, five periods again from CP to CM2 with streaming by competence, and in the secondary years a separate literature group with eight periods a week for those taking English as a first language. Arabic runs along two routes - for native speakers to the education ministry's standards, with creative writing, stories, essays and poetry, and pupil-run conferences and podcasts in standard Arabic, and separately for non-native learners at any level. There are many and varied extracurricular activities: Art & Eco Design, visual arts, drama, homework help at every level, English clubs for beginners and advanced learners, an introduction to Chinese language and culture, instruments and a musical, coding and robotics, football, basketball, swimming and yoga. Beyond those the school runs sports, music and chess academies, the Duke of Edinburgh's Award programme and the BIA introductory aeronautics certificate.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $10 834–18 659 a year
39 789–68 525 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary · French programme
Languages of instruction
French
Languages taught
English, Arabic
About the fees The annual fee in the north campus table for 2025-2026 rises by year group: Petite Section 39,789 dirhams, Moyenne Section 41,999, Grande Section 46,420, CP 47,526, CE1 48,631, CE2 49,735, CM1 50,841, CM2 53,052, 6e 55,262, 5e 57,473, 4e 59,683, 3e 61,893, 2de 64,104, 1re 64,634 and Terminale 68,525. The registration fee is 500 dirhams at each level. The tariffs were approved by the KHDA in June 2025. The south campus costs the same but is presented differently: there the school shows the approved fee - from 45,000 dirhams in Petite Section upwards - and a discount against it of between five and eleven and a half per cent, which brings the fee to the same figures as on the north site.
Admissions The school keeps its admissions rules, enrolment procedure and questions and answers on separate pages, and invites families to book a visit. The registration fee is 500 dirhams at every stage. The school names no language requirements or entrance tests on the pages we read.
Stages and year groups Grades Petite Section from age 3 - Terminale. The stages run straight through on the French grid: the kindergarten - Petite, Moyenne and Grande Section - the primary school CP to CM2, the collège 6e to 3e, and the lycée 2de, 1re and Terminale. The north site in Al Quoz 1 holds every stage; the south site on Hessa Street opened in 2024/2025 with the primary school and from September 2025 takes the middle and senior years too.
Address Al Quoz 1
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
AEFE · accreditationCambridge · Primary · authorised programmeThe school is a French institution abroad within the AEFE network, and that is its grounding: the curriculum of the French Éducation nationale, homologation from the French ministry, and inspections by its inspectors. The Cambridge entry from the registry is borne out by the school's own page on English: English in the kindergarten and primary school runs on the Cambridge curriculum for five periods a week.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
AEFEAgency for French Education Abroad
It runs the network of French schools worldwide, while the accreditation itself, the homologation, is granted by the French education ministry and inspected by French state inspectors. A leaver from a homologated school moves into a school in France without an entrance examination. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →French programme
The state programme of France. A school is homologated by the French ministry of education, and a leaver may move into a school in France without entrance tests. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.
What this means for this school. Which year groups of this school are covered by homologation - only the primary ones, or all the way to the final year - is not stated here. The difference matters: it decides whether the school takes a child through to the French baccalaureate or hands them on to another school halfway.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus:
Clubs and activities: Art & Eco Design · Visual arts · Theatre · English club for beginners · English club for advanced learners · Chinese language and culture · Musical instruments · Musical production · Programming · Robotics · Football · Basketball · Swimming · Yoga · Chess academy · Sports academy · Music academy · Duke of Edinburgh's Award · BIA introductory aviation diploma
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)74 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data95 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country