← Back to the rankingMetropolitan School Frankfurt

Frankfurt, Germany · est. 2007 · Private
Illustration · Frankfurt
Metropolitan School Frankfurt (MSF) is a private, not-for-profit international school in Frankfurt am Main, from a kindergarten for three-year-olds to grade 12. It was founded by Peter Ferres, the current director; the first students arrived in August 2007, and the first IB class graduated in 2018. Lessons are taught in English, German is taught at different levels from beginner to native speaker, and from grade 6 Spanish or French is added. The curriculum: IB Primary Years Programme in kindergarten and grades 1-5, Cambridge Lower Secondary with Checkpoint exams in grades 6-8, Cambridge IGCSE in grades 9-10 and the IB Diploma in grades 11-12. The school is recognised by the state of Hesse as an Ersatzschule, and the city subsidises the kindergarten. There are 760 students from 55 countries and a student-teacher ratio of 6,3. Every IB class from 2021 to 2026 passed in full, with an average score of 34 in 2026; the school says it ranked first in Germany for its IB average in 2024.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $17 502–23 670 a year
15 492–20 952 EUR
Programmes
IB · PYP, DP · Cambridge · Lower Secondary, IGCSE
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
German, Spanish, French
Students per teacher
6,3 students per teacher, according to the school
Class size
About 22 children in kindergarten and grade 1, no more than 24 from grade 2.
Registration fee
≈ $1 356
1 200 EUR
About the fees Fees for the 2026-2027 school year for self-paying families: grades 1-5 15492 EUR per year (1291 EUR per month), grades 6-10 19104 EUR (1592 EUR per month), grades 11-12 20952 EUR (1746 EUR per month), paid in 12 equal instalments. Kindergarten is free for Frankfurt residents (the city covers tuition), and families pay only a 65 EUR monthly snack fee; for others it costs 1255 EUR per month (15060 EUR per year). Families whose fees are paid by an employer, and families of partner companies and consulates, have a separate rate: 19500, 24108 and 26952 EUR per year, with a 7200 EUR registration fee (6000 EUR credited against tuition). Grades 1-10 offer income-based fee reductions (family income up to 88000 EUR per year) depending on income and assets, plus school scholarships; grades 11-12 have an IB scholarship. Books, except for grades 11-12, and day trips up to 50 EUR per year are included.
Admissions The school is open to children of all nationalities aged 3 to 17 and also considers the diversity of nationalities in a class. Applications for the next school year are mainly accepted from September to June, and for the current year when places are available; places are competitive, and if no place is available the child joins the waiting list. Steps: an online application with the last two school reports (translated into English), a reference and referral form from the current school, and for children with specific learning needs a psycho-educational evaluation; in grades 6-11 a handwritten student statement, and for grade 11 IB applicants a handwritten essay of about 500 words. The committee reviews the application, followed by an interview and tests in English and mathematics (grades 2-11; sometimes German; in grade 11 also science), and where possible a trial day; interviews are compulsory for grades 6-12, and long-distance applicants are interviewed online. After an offer, the contract and the registration and joining fees are due within three weeks. The child must live with at least one parent or legal guardian. English is not required in advance: paid extra English as an additional language lessons are available. Families of employees of partner companies and consulates have priority enrolment at a separate rate.
Stages and year groups Kindergarten (Early Years, ages 3-6) and primary school (grades 1-5) follow the IB Primary Years Programme; kindergarten children are immersed in English and German. Grades 6-8 follow Cambridge Lower Secondary (Secondary 1) with Checkpoint exams. Grades 9-10 follow Cambridge IGCSE (Secondary 2) with exams for all; the school is a Cambridge exam centre and names, among others, Coordinated Science (double award); in Hesse the certificate after grade 10 is recognised as the Realschulabschluss. Grades 11-12 follow the IB Diploma Programme, recognised in Germany as a university entrance qualification; computer science is available at higher and standard level. From grade 9 there is the Duke of Edinburgh's International Award (Bronze, followed by Silver and Gold). The school day runs from 8:30 (8:25 in secondary) to 15:30.
Address Eschborner Landstraße 134-142, 60489 Frankfurt am Main
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP, DP · authorised programmeCambridge · Lower Secondary, IGCSE · authorised programmeCIS · accreditationNEASC · accreditationThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Primary Years and Diploma programmes. The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge Lower Secondary, Cambridge IGCSE. The school is accredited by CIS. The school is accredited by NEASC.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16). Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CISCouncil of International Schools
It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →NEASCNew England Association of Schools and Colleges
An American accreditation working since 1885. For international schools it uses an approach where the visitors look first at live lessons rather than at folders of paperwork: the team works in the school for about a week. It is the only one here whose public directory honestly separates accredited schools from candidates.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Average IB score
34 (world average 30.88)
Exam results IB Diploma: in 2026 all candidates passed, average score 34, highest 45 out of 45; 2025 100%, average 35, highest 43; 2024 100%, average 38, highest 44; 2021 average 40; since 2019 only 2020 had a 97% pass rate. Cambridge International IGCSE, provisional results 2026: 23% A* grades, 31% A, 92% A* to C, 90% of students achieved five or more grades A* to C.
Where leavers go: Stanford University · Harvard University · Yale University · Columbia University · University of California, Berkeley · Pomona College · Wellesley College · University of Cambridge · University of Oxford · University College London · Imperial College London · Durham University
and others, 20 universities in the school's list in allThe school has 235 IB graduates in total. The alumni page and the page for German families list universities where graduates study in the US, the UK, the Netherlands, Canada, Germany and France; there are also gap year stories.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Clubs and activities: Robotics · Chess · Board Games · Model United Nations · Literacy and Book Clubs · Filmmaking Club · Mental Math - Japanese Abacus · The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award · Yoga · Train for Brain · Specialist Music Classes
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: Teachers are recruited from around the world; all are proficient or native speakers of the language of instruction.
Primary classes have teaching assistants and a learning support team alongside the homeroom teacher; support for English as an additional language and additional learning needs is given both in class and in small groups. The school promises that no lessons are cancelled.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The Student Oriented Service team includes a school psychologist and counsellors in each division, and the page for German families mentions several social workers and school psychologists. A bullying policy in the parent handbook applies, and students are supported by counsellors, homeroom teachers and advisors. The secondary school is phone-free; lunch is supervised by teachers; the school is nut-free. New students are helped by class buddies.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)97 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)100 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country