← Back to the rankingSt. George's The British International School Düsseldorf Rhein-Ruhr

Duisburg, Germany · est. 2003 · Private
Illustration · Duisburg
St. George's The British International School Düsseldorf Rhein-Ruhr is a private British international day school for children aged 2 to 18 in Duisburg-Ungelsheim, between Düsseldorf and Duisburg. It opened in 2003 as the second school after Köln and in 2012 moved to its own purpose-built campus. Children progress from Early Years (Pre-Nursery from age 2), following the English Early Years framework and the National Curriculum for England, to Cambridge IGCSE courses in Years 10-11 and two IB programmes in Years 12-13: the Diploma Programme and the Career-related Programme with a BTEC. Teaching is in English; German is a compulsory subject at every stage, taught by level, and French or Spanish can be chosen in secondary school. Children of more than 50 nationalities attend, classes have no more than 20 pupils, and there are 6 students per teacher. The average IB Diploma score in 2026 was 38, 7 points above the world average; the school describes itself as the top-ranked IB school in Germany in a 2026 ranking. In 2026, 88% of IGCSE grades were A* to C. The school is accredited by the Council of British International Schools (COBIS) and is an Eco-Schools member.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP, CP · Cambridge · IGCSE · Pearson Edexcel · BTEC
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
German, French, Spanish
Students per teacher
6 students per teacher
Class size
on average 15-17 pupils, no more than 20 pupils
Registration fee
≈ $847
750 EUR
Admissions Admissions run all year with no deadlines; children can usually start at any point in the year, the exceptions being the upper years (10-13), where joining at the start of a cycle is preferred. Steps: contacting the admissions team and an OpenApply account, a school tour (not compulsory), copies of the two most recent school reports (except for the youngest), a free taster day with some assessed work, and for secondary school placement tests in core subjects, especially for entry to the IGCSE and IB Diploma, which require a certain level of English. A place is reserved once a full application with documents, the 750 EUR application fee and a confirmation letter from the head of admissions are in place; if a year group is full, a waiting list place is offered. The school says it carefully reviews every application and seeks students who meet its academic prerequisites. Primary school accepts children with any level of English, including none, with additional language support; German is not required for entry, and many pupils join without it. Classes have no more than 20 children.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-Nursery, Nursery, Reception, Years 1-13. Early Years (Pre-Nursery, Nursery, Reception, ages 2-5) following the English Early Years Foundation Stage; Years 1-9 (grades 1-9) following the National Curriculum for England; Years 10-11 Cambridge IGCSE courses with examinations at the end of Year 11: English, mathematics, science and German are compulsory, plus at least one social science (history, geography or economics) so that the IGCSEs count as the Mittlere Reife; options include French, Spanish, art, music, drama, PE and computer science. Years 12-13 offer two IB programmes: the Diploma Programme and the Career-related Programme (a Pearson BTEC in Enterprise and Entrepreneurship, two IB Diploma courses and the CP core). The school says the IB Diploma is recognised in all German Länder as equivalent to the Abitur. The language of instruction is English, except in German lessons. A half-day option until 13:00 is available in Pre-Nursery.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP, CP · authorised programmeCambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeCOBIS · membershipPearson · authorised programmeThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Diploma and Career-related programmes. The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. The school is a member of COBIS.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19), CP (ages 16-19, with a vocational slant). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate. CP is the final stage with a vocational slant, ages 16 to 19: some of the DP subjects plus an applied qualification. It is meant for those heading into a trade or an applied degree rather than an academic one.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →COBISCouncil of British International Schools
An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board
It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.
What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →BTEC
A British vocational qualification from Pearson: not an academic course with an exam at the end, but a programme of practical assignments in a particular trade, from engineering and business to art and sport.
What this means for this school. Teaching and assessment work differently from A-level: instead of written exams there is a run of practical assignments marked by the school, while Pearson checks the school itself and samples the work. British universities do accept BTEC, but not all of them and not for every course: level 3 carries the same UCAS points as A-level, and that is what a family aiming at a particular university should look at. For a child who needs the classic academic route, BTEC is not a replacement for A-level but a different path.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Average IB score
38 (world average 30.88)
Exam results IB Diploma: average score of 38 in 2026, 7 points above the world average; best individual result of 45 points in 2022-2025. The school's table: in 2021 an average of 36, a 97% pass rate and 46% bilingual diplomas; in 2022 an average of 39, a 100% pass rate and 48% bilingual diplomas. IB Career-related Programme: 100% pass rate in 2021 and 2022. IGCSE 2026: 88% of grades A* to C.
Where leavers go: University of Oxford · IE University
The school does not publish overall admissions statistics; the universities come from a graduate's profile on the website. The campus home page shows university logos (Cambridge, Harvard, Stanford, MIT, ETH, LSE, UCL, TUM and others), but labelled as destinations of graduates from the whole school group.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground · Makerspace
Clubs and activities: Duke of Edinburgh's International Award · Model United Nations · Debating · Robotics club · Coding and Lego clubs · Math Olympiad · Science Fair · Photography and Video clubs · Podcast · School magazine · Choir · School band · Fencing · Archery · Climbing · St. George's Dragons
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: According to the school, all teachers hold a valid teaching qualification: Lehramt with the second state examination, a bachelor's in education, PGCE, iPGCE, PGDE or similar; subject specialists hold a degree in their subject; some hold Qualified Teacher Status and the IB Educator Certificate. Many teachers are British nationals, with others from Europe, the US and Australia. All staff present an enhanced German police check (erweitertes Führungszeugnis) or an equivalent.
Teachers undertake continuous professional development; in Early Years classes have teaching assistants, and PE, music and German are taught by subject specialists; the school has a careers and university guidance counsellor.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Child protection is led by a Designated Safeguarding Lead; the school follows COBIS safeguarding practice and, according to the COBIS reaccreditation report, exceeds the standards for safeguarding and safer recruitment, student welfare, facilities, governance, and ethos and values. Pastoral work is supported by a counselling team, prefects and peer mentors. Staff undergo safer recruitment checks and present an enhanced police certificate.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)87 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)95 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data85 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median84 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country