← Back to homeThe Moraitis School

Psychico, Greece · est. 1936 · Private
Illustration · Psychico
The Moraitis School (Σχολή Μωραΐτη) is a private all-through school in Palaio Psychiko, from nursery to the last grade of lyceum. Its history begins in 1936 with the school "Protypon Lykeion Athinon" founded by the mathematician Karolos Berzan; in 1952 the licence passed to the philologist Antonis Moraitis and the school moved to Psychiko. The school has worked with the IB since 1985, its first IB Diploma students arrived in 1992, and it calls itself "Το πρώτο ελληνικό IΒ σχολείο στην Ελλάδα". Since 2014 it has a nursery and admits children from age three. The core curriculum is the Greek state one, in Greek. The IB Diploma Programme is a separate class in grades 11-12 next to the Greek lyceum: after the first grade of lyceum a student continues either in the General Lyceum preparing for the Panhellenic exams or in the IB. Students from other schools can join a preparatory Pre IB class (first grade of lyceum). IB DP subjects are taught in English: English is offered as Language B, while the group 1 language is Modern Greek literature, for which graduates receive a "Bilingual Diploma"; applicants need at least a First Certificate in English and an essay in English. Foreign languages: English, French, German, Spanish. The school belongs to the Inspired Education group.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Greek, English
Languages taught
French, German, Spanish
About the fees The school does not publish tuition on its site; the scholarships page notes that entrance exams are taken both by fee-paying and scholarship applicants.
Admissions Nursery, first kindergarten year and grade one admit children by readiness for school, after meetings of parents and children with the school psychologists; siblings at the school, alumni parents and the application date are taken into account. Other primary grades admit when places are free, by written and oral exams and an interview, requiring English, and for grades five and six also French, German or Spanish. Gymnasium and the first two grades of lyceum admit by exams and previous grades, with English and French plus German or Spanish. IB applications are filed during the first grade of lyceum; the gymnasium certificate grades and first-semester lyceum grades count, there is an interview in April, at least the Cambridge First Certificate in English and an essay in English are required. Pre IB (first grade of lyceum) is open "αποκλειστικά σε μαθητές άλλων σχολείων, εκτός της Σχολής Μωραΐτη". The school does not address foreign nationals separately.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-K-12. Nursery (ages 3-4), pre-kindergarten (4-5), kindergarten (5-6), primary school (Dimotiko), gymnasium (Gymnasio), lyceum (Lykeio) on the Greek curriculum with the Apolytirio and the Panhellenic exams, and the IB Diploma Programme as a separate class in grades 11-12; for students from other schools a preparatory Pre IB in the first grade of lyceum. The school writes that a Pre IB student who decides not to follow the IB «μπορεί να συνεχίσει στη Β' Λυκείου του Γενικού Λυκείου», having completed the first-grade syllabus. IB Language B: English, French, Spanish, German; group 1: Modern Greek literature.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeInspired · school is part of the networkThe IB register lists the Diploma Programme at the school. The school is part of the Inspired group.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Inspiredschool network
Inspired Education Group is a private school group founded in 2013. The group gives different figures on its own pages - 125 schools on some, "more than 100" on others - and we quote both: choosing for a group which of its own numbers is correct is not something we do. Its schools are in Europe, Latin America, Africa, the Middle East and Southeast Asia, and some of them keep their own historic names, such as King's College in Madrid and Riga. The group's site is inspirededu.com.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Average IB score
36.6 (world average 30.88)
Exam results IB Diploma, class of 2025: average 36.6 against a world average of 30.3, 99% obtained the diploma (world 81%), four students scored 45 out of 45 and two scored 44; 92% were admitted to their first-choice university. Panhellenic exams, class of 2026: 16% of students scored above 19000 points, 30% averaged above 18.
Where leavers go: Cambridge · UCL · Imperial · St Andrews · Durham · Bath · Manchester · Queen Mary · University of the Arts London · Princeton · UPenn · Dartmouth and others, 34 universities in the school's list in all
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show:
The school writes that it selects teachers rigorously and that they stand out «για τα υψηλά ακαδημαϊκά του προσόντα και τους τίτλους σπουδών από πανεπιστήμια διεθνούς κύρους (μεταπτυχιακά διπλώματα, διδακτορικές διατριβές κτλ)». The school does not publish teacher numbers or a student to teacher ratio.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school writes: «Το Σχολείο έχει πλήρως στελεχωμένο ιατρείο με γιατρό, παιδίατρο και νοσηλεύτρια». Psychologists work at the school; school psychologists meet families during admission to the younger grades.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data85 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country