← Back to homeVerita International School

Glyfada, Greece · est. 2019 · Private
Illustration · Glyfada
Verita International School is a family-owned private school that opened in Athens in 2019; the Verita community of schools began in 1982 in Bucharest. The school operates on three sites in southern Athens: Early Years and Primary in Glyfada and Secondary in Alimos. The curriculum is the National Curriculum of England and Wales: the EYFS together with the International Early Years Curriculum, the International Primary Curriculum in Years 1-6 and the International Middle Years Curriculum in Years 7-9, followed by Pearson Edexcel IGCSE and International A Level. Social emotional learning has a special place: Emory University's SEE programme and the S.E.E.D. support centre. The language of instruction is English: all pages for parents, the admissions rules and the curricula are in English, and there is an ELL programme for children without grade-level English. Greek is taught daily following the Ministry of Education curriculum at three levels, French is offered in Primary, and IGCSE electives include Greek, French and Spanish. Three daily meals are prepared by the school's in-house chefs.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $8 450–13 918 a year
7 480–12 320 EUR
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
2.5 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Greek, French, Spanish
About the fees Annual tuition fees for 2026-2027: Nursery and Reception 7480 euros (full day 9:15-15:30), Year 1 9480, Years 2-6 10460, Years 7-9 11240, Years 10-13 12320 euros. Special tuition accommodations are available for families requiring assistance.
Admissions The school states that it supports "a broad, inclusive and culturally diverse student population" and "does not discriminate on the basis of race, colour, national or ethnic origin" in admissions. There are no application deadlines, but classes close once they reach capacity. The process: an online application, a family interview in person or online for families who have not yet arrived in Athens, with an evaluation of the student for Year 3 and above, a teacher recommendation for Reception, and teacher and administrator recommendations for Years 1-13. The school does not require any outside testing. Transfer students entering IGCSE and A Level may be asked to complete baseline assessments in English and Maths; A Level entry requires IGCSE grades of 5 or higher, often 6+ for sciences and maths. ELL and learning support are available but may be limited.
Stages and year groups Grades Nursery, Reception, Years 1-13. Early Years School: Nursery and Reception following the EYFS and the International Early Years Curriculum. Primary School: Years 1-6, Key Stages 1-2 delivered through the International Primary Curriculum. Secondary: Middle Years (Years 7-9) with the International Middle Years Curriculum, Upper Secondary with Pearson Edexcel IGCSE (Years 10-11) and International A Levels (Years 12-13), usually three subjects. The inaugural IGCSE cohort sat in the 2025-2026 academic year. There is currently no IB programme, although an older page of the website still mentions plans to introduce the IB Diploma.
Address Smirnis 13, Glyfada (Primary); Irakliou 30, Glyfada (Early Years); Marinou Antipa 4, Alimos (Secondary)
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
COBIS · accreditationThe school is an accredited member of COBIS. The COBIS register still lists only its nursery and primary school; the secondary section with Pearson Edexcel IGCSE and International A Level opened later.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
COBISCouncil of British International Schools
An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CambridgeIGCSE, A-Level
Programmes of the University of Cambridge: the school teaches to Cambridge syllabuses and enters its pupils for exams that Cambridge marks itself. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
What this means for this school. The papers are marked by Cambridge, not by the school, so a leaver's grade does not depend on how strict their own teachers are with them. To enter pupils for these exams a school has to be registered as a Cambridge exam centre; registration as a centre is permission to run exams rather than accreditation of the school, and it says nothing about the quality of teaching. IGCSE is taken at around Year 10 or 11 and A-Level in the final years, and it is the A-Level results that carry a pupil into British and many other universities.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results The inaugural IGCSE cohort in 2025-2026: 14 students took exams in 9 subjects and achieved eight Grade 9s and six Grade 8s. Top grades were in Mathematics, Chemistry, Chinese and Russian.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Athletics · Music & Dance · Drama · Chess Club · Robotics · Languages · Advanced Maths · Martial Arts · Arts & Crafts · Digital Art · Homework Club · Student Council · Basketball · Volleyball · Football · Badminton · Swimming · Tennis · Track & Field
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school describes its teaching staff as "a mix of internationally trained expatriates and talented educators". In Primary the class teacher teaches literacy, mathematics, science, history and geography, while art, drama, music, PSHE and languages are taught by specialist teachers; Greek is taught by local language teachers. ELL specialists support children without grade-level English. The school speaks of small year groups but does not publish the number of teachers or class sizes.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The website publishes a Safeguarding and Child Protection Policy, a Safer Recruitment Policy, a Health & Safety Policy and a First Aid Policy. A dedicated Social Emotional Ethical and Special Education Needs Director leads this area, supported by a coordinator who serves as "Kindness Monitor" and a Community Wellness Director.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)85 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country