Home · UAE · Abu Dhabi
← Back to home

Muna British Academy

ОАЭ Abu Dhabi, UAE · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
63.9#287 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Muna British Academy is an Aldar Academies school in Abu Dhabi. It was previously called Al Muna Academy and stood on Zayed the First Street in the Al Dana district; it now works from a new campus at Saadiyat Lagoons. The curriculum is the English National Curriculum, taught through projects; English, mathematics and science form the core, with design and technology, computing, history, geography, music, art, physical education and personal development alongside them, while Arabic, Islamic studies and social studies are taught as the UAE Ministry of Education requires. The school day for the youngest children runs from 7:45 to 14:10, from Year 1 to Year 6 to 14:30, and on Fridays everyone finishes at 12:00. Among its facilities the school lists a multi-purpose sports hall, a 25-metre swimming pool, a netball court, an artificial-turf pitch and soft play areas, and among its support services a full-time nurse and a dedicated school counsellor. It describes its community as more than fifty nationalities, and its ADEK rating as “Outstanding” for three inspections in a row. Student leadership rests on four bodies: the leadership team, the school council, the eco council and the sports captains.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $14 424–18 845 a year
52 973–69 208 AED
Programmes
being checked
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
School website
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027: FS1 and FS2 through Year 6 AED 52,973, Years 7 and 8 58,800, Year 9 62,916, Years 10-13 69,208. Registration for a new student costs 5 per cent of the annual fee; it is not refunded and is credited against the final term's fees. Returning students pay the same fee to re-register their place, under ADEK rules. The bus costs AED 5,000 a year round trip. Uniform, meals, transport, examination fees and external extracurricular activities are not included in the fee.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 - Year 13. EYFS covers children from three to five, followed by Key Stage 1 (Years 1-2), Key Stage 2 (Years 3-6) and Key Stage 3 (Years 7-9); the fee table runs up to Year 13. The EYFS day runs from 7:45 to 14:10, Year 1 to Year 6 from 7:45 to 14:30, and on Fridays everyone goes from 7:45 to 12:00.
Address Saadiyat Lagoons

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

BSO · accreditationBSME · part of the association
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Campus:

Teaching staff

There is no data for this section yet.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
60
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
63
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

The Sheikh Zayed Private Academy for BoysAbu Dhabi · 63.9The Sheikh Zayed Private Academy for GirlsAbu Dhabi · 63.9Hampton Heights International SchoolDubai · 63.9Al Murooj English SchoolSharjah · 63.9