← Back to the rankingParadis International College

Rediu, Romania · est. 2005 · Private
Illustration · Rediu
Paradis International College is a private school from kindergarten to grade 12; since summer 2023 it has occupied its own new campus in Rediu village near Iasi. Legally it is Liceul Teoretic Paradis. The Paradis kindergarten opened in the Copou district in 2005, the primary school in 2008, the lower secondary school in 2014; in 2015 the school was authorised by Cambridge, in 2019 it opened a Cambridge high school, and in 2023 the ministry also authorised a Romanian high school line. The school calls itself the first Cambridge high school in the Moldova region. Up to grade 8 pupils follow the Romanian national curriculum, supplemented by Cambridge Primary and Lower Secondary English, Mathematics and Science. In grades 9-12 there are two lines: a Romanian bilingual line (Romanian and English) ending with the bacalaureat, and a Cambridge line taught exclusively in English, with IGCSE and A Level. The school is a Round Square member (Global Member since 2020) and a COBIS member, runs the Leader in Me programme and is a Cambridge English and ECDL centre. In April 2025 the BSO inspection of the Cambridge high school line judged the curriculum, teaching, premises and pupils' spiritual, moral, social and cultural development outstanding. In 2025-2026 the school had 595 children and 52 teachers. The founder and principal is Oana Mihaela Albu.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $5 319–11 297 a year
4 708–10 000 EUR
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level · National programme
Languages of instruction
Romanian, English
Languages taught
German, Spanish
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027 (10 months, September to June): kindergarten 5280 euro, primary 5940 euro, lower secondary 5564 euro, high school Romanian line 4708 euro, high school Cambridge line 10000 euro per year. Fees include textbooks and resources, the after-school programme, educational platforms, extra exam preparation in grades 4, 8 and 12, preparation for Cambridge, IELTS and Zertifikat Deutsch language exams, counselling and university admission guidance. The school states that fees are partly covered from the local budget under Law 198/2023, at 6834 lei per year. Meals are extra: from 6.88 to 8.22 euro per day by stage, special diet menu from 10.33 to 12.24 euro per day. Each year one grade 8 pupil receives a scholarship covering the full high school tuition.
Admissions Admission begins with a school tour for the family. Kindergarten children are assessed through play. Transfers into grades 1-4 require an interview, an internal exam in Mathematics and Romanian with at least 8.50, and an English certificate (Starters, Movers or Flyers) or an internal test. Lower secondary is the same, plus a parent interview and Flyers level. The Cambridge line in grade 9 requires parent and candidate interviews, a cognitive test, B2 English (certificate or internal test), at least 8.50 in Mathematics at the Evaluarea Nationala or an internal exam, and a science test for candidates not from an international school. Grade 11 (AS Level) entrants need an IGCSE diploma or, without one, an interview, B2 English and subject tests of at least 80%. The Romanian high school line requires B1 English and at least 8.50 at the Evaluarea Nationala or in internal exams in Mathematics and Romanian. The answer comes within 72 hours. A re-assessment costs 100 euro. The school does not write about admitting foreigners or children without Romanian.
Stages and year groups Grades grupa mică - grupa mare, clasa pregătitoare, 1-12. The kindergarten follows the Romanian early years curriculum with English daily in every group. Primary and lower secondary follow the Romanian national curriculum, supplemented by Cambridge Primary and Cambridge Lower Secondary in English, Mathematics and Science; Cambridge Primary Checkpoint is taken at the end of grade 5, and Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoint and the national Evaluarea Nationala at the end of grade 8. In grades 9-12 pupils choose the Romanian line (Liceul Teoretic Paradis: real profile, natural sciences, and humanities profile, philology, both bilingual with English; bacalaureat exam) or the Cambridge line: IGCSE in grades 9-10 (three of seven subjects chosen; Mathematics, English as a first language, Science and a second foreign language, German or Spanish, are compulsory), AS and A Level in grades 11-12 with 15 subjects to choose from. In 2025-2026: 164 children in kindergarten, 273 in primary, 89 in lower secondary, 14 on the Romanian high school line and 55 on the Cambridge line.
Address Str. Dealul Zorilor nr. 8C, sat Rediu, comuna Rediu, județul Iași
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeBSO · accreditationRound Square · part of the associationThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre (listed as Paradis Secondary School); it is inspected under the British Schools Overseas scheme and is a member of Round Square. The Romanian national programme runs alongside the Cambridge line.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas
A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Round SquareRound Square
A network of about three hundred schools in some fifty countries, built on the ideas of the educationalist Kurt Hahn: internationalism, democracy, environment, adventure, leadership, service. On joining, representatives of the network visit the school and write a report, and the school then spends up to two years as a candidate.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the network. The check on joining is a real one, but what is examined is fidelity to the six principles rather than the quality of teaching, safeguarding or governance. Reports are not published, and the five-year review is one the school carries out on itself. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results The 2025 BSO inspection reports that in 2024 all IGCSE candidates achieved at least six passes at grade C or above, with 48.6% of grades at A and A*. In 2025 the average Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoint result for grade 9 pupils was 44 out of 50 in Mathematics and 43 out of 50 in Science. The school publishes Cambridge line and Evaluarea Nationala results on separate pages.
Where leavers go: Delft University of Technology · Erasmus University Rotterdam · City, University of London · Eindhoven University of Technology · NHL Stenden University · University of Groningen · University of Lille
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground · Makerspace
Clubs and activities: Clubul de șah (chess) · Clubul de dans (dance) · Clubul de înot (swimming) · Clubul de artă (drawing and ceramics) · Clubul de chitară (guitar) · Clubul de pian (piano) · Clubul de tobe (drums) · Clubul de canto (singing) · Clubul de Aikido (aikido) · Clubul de Taekwondo (taekwondo) · Clubul de fotbal/baschet/handbal (football, basketball, handball) · Clubul de robotică și programare (robotics and programming) · Clubul de media - Radio Paradis (media club and school radio) · Debate Club · MUN - Model United Nations · Public Speaking · Paradis Media Academy · Redescoperă Iașul (local history of Iași) · Astronomie (astronomy) · Arhitectură (architecture) · Teatru (theatre)
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
✓Number of teachers52
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: qualified teachers who train through Cambridge, Erasmus+ and Round Square programmes; new teachers have mentors
In 2025-2026 the school had 52 teachers, plus a school psychologist-counsellor, a librarian, a doctor and a nurse. The BSO inspection noted that all teachers are fluent in English, although there are currently no UK teachers. New teachers are mentored by experienced colleagues and peer observation is in place. Teachers train through Cambridge International courses, Erasmus+ and the Round Square network.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
✓CCTV
✓Security staff
✓Access control
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has a child protection policy based on UK practice and local rules. Two staff members hold NSPCC Level 3 designated safeguarding lead training. All staff receive safeguarding and first aid training every year and present criminal record certificates. The site is fenced, entry is by code, there is a guard and CCTV, and visitors are registered and given badges. The medical office is open from 8:00 to 18:00 and there is a school psychologist. The school has a separate bullying and cyberbullying procedure, and phones are banned in school.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)95 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data95 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country