← Back to homePrague British International School

Prague, Czech Republic · est. 2018 · Private
Illustration · Prague
Prague British International School is part of Nord Anglia Education. It was formed by "The merger of the Prague British School and English International School of Prague in 2018", and the school says its history goes back more than 30 years; it calls itself the largest international school community in the Czech Republic. Children from more than 60 countries, aged two to nineteen. British and international programmes: EYFS, the English National Curriculum with the International Primary Curriculum, the IB Middle Years Programme (candidate school), Cambridge IGCSE and the IB Diploma Programme. Teachers come from native English-speaking countries, mostly the UK. A separate Czech British Primary School (Česko Britská Základní Škola) for Czech children teaches in Czech and English. Collaborations with The Juilliard School, MIT and UNICEF come through the network.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $16 624–35 288 a year
360 000–764 160 CZK
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · IGCSE · Pearson Edexcel
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Class size
Early Years average 12 children, Primary at most 22, Secondary average 18 pupils
Registration fee
≈ $693
15 000 CZK
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027: from 360000 CZK (Pre-Nursery and Nursery) to 764160 CZK (Years 12-13); Reception 475200 CZK, Years 1-2 624960 CZK. The Czech British Primary School costs from 404448 CZK to 457344 CZK. The bus (84000 CZK a year), IGCSE and IB exams, lunches, uniforms and trips cost extra. 4% discount for annual payment, 5% for the second child, 10% for the third.
Admissions The school admits children aged 2 to 19 from all over the world: "We're an open enrolment school, which means anyone can join us if we have places available", with applications all year round. There is no entrance exam, but from Year 7 non-native speakers sit a language assessment and native speakers a maths and literature assessment; IB Diploma entry in Year 12 requires passed IGCSEs or equivalent. Up to Year 6 children without English are accepted and supported by the EAL programme, which is included in the fees. The process includes a trial day and an interview. The Czech British Primary programme is designed for Czech nationals.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-Nursery - Year 13. Early Years (from age 2, EYFS), Primary Years 1-6 (English National Curriculum and International Primary Curriculum), Lower Secondary Years 7-9 (IB Middle Years Programme, candidate school), Years 10-11 (Cambridge IGCSE), Years 12-13 (IB Diploma Programme). Alongside it, Česko Britská Základní Škola: Years 1-6 on the Czech National Curriculum and the IPC in Czech and English, for Czech children only. Main teaching is in English.
Address K Lesu 558/2, 142 00 Praha 4 - Kamýk
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeCambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmePearson · authorised programmeBSO · accreditationCOBIS · accreditationNord Anglia Education · school is part of the networkThe IB register lists the Diploma Programme at the school, and the Cambridge and Pearson registers name it as an exam centre. It holds a British Schools Overseas (BSO) inspection, the latest in June 2026, and is an accredited member of COBIS. The school is part of the Nord Anglia Education group.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board
It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.
What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas
A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →COBISCouncil of British International Schools
An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Nord Anglia Educationschool network
A group of international schools of the full cycle, day and boarding. The numbers on its site diverge: the "About Nord Anglia" page speaks of 89 schools in 37 countries, the "Our schools" and "Our global network" pages - of 90, the "All schools" page - of "90+"; pupils are more than 100,000 everywhere. Whether the group owns the schools, manages them under contract or gives its methodology under licence is not said on its pages. The year of foundation and the country of registration are not named there.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Average IB score
34 (world average 30.88)
Exam results Class of 2026: 97% passed the IB Diploma, average score 34.
Where leavers go: University of Oxford · University of Cambridge · Stanford University · King's College London · University of Hong Kong · KAIST · IE University
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Clubs and activities: Orchestra · Jazz ensemble · Contemporary dance · Classical ballet · Story and sketching · Origami · Football · Forest running · Wall-climbing · Karate · Baseball · Robotics · Video-editing · Model United Nations · The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award · UNICEF club · Student Council · Eco Committee
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: All hold UK qualified teacher status or equivalent, many have a Master's degree.
Teachers come from native English-speaking countries, most from the UK, some from Canada, the USA, Australia and New Zealand; most modern language teachers are native speakers.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A learning and pastoral team supports students; the school says the Nord Anglia global Education Team drives safeguarding across the network's schools.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)84 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)100 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country