Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

Repton School Al Barsha

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · Private
Illustration · Dubai
64.3#268 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Repton School Al Barsha is a British school for children from three to eighteen, part of the Cognita family of schools. Its inheritance is a long one: Repton School in Derbyshire was founded in 1557 by Sir John Port, a Member of Parliament knighted by King Edward VI, and out of that inheritance grew a family of international schools, among them Repton Dubai, opened in 2007 by the founder of the Emirati branch, Khaled Al Mheiri. What the school carried over from England and names as its distinguishing mark is the house system: pupils and staff hold to their house, and the school considers inter-house rivalry one of the most marked parts of its life. The stages run in small steps, in the English way: the Foundation Stage, the First School for Years 1 and 2, the Lower and Upper Junior Schools, the Senior School from Year 7 to Year 11 and the Sixth Form in Years 12 and 13. The fee is the same for every year group from Year 7 to Year 13 - 89,774 dirhams - so moving up to the senior stage adds nothing for a family. The leaving qualification is A level, and the school says many of its leavers receive offers from leading universities worldwide.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $14 579–24 445 a year
53 540–89 774 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · A-Level
Admits from
3 years
Languages
English
School website
About the fees The annual fee for 2026-2027: 53,540 dirhams for FS1, 58,948 for FS2, 64,356 for Years 1 and 2, 69,764 for Years 3 and 4, 75,172 for Years 5 and 6 and 89,774 from Year 7 to Year 13. It is paid in three parts - 40 per cent in the first term and 30 per cent in each of the second and third; the whole sum may also be paid at the start of the year.
Admissions The school takes children from three to eighteen. Admission is set out on a page of its own together with a school tour and the application; there are scholarships and open days.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 from age 3 - Year 13, up to age 18. The stages run in small steps and straight through: Foundation Stage is FS1 and FS2, the First School Years 1 and 2, the Lower Junior School Years 3 and 4, the Upper Junior School Years 5 and 6, the Senior School Years 7 to 11 and the Sixth Form Years 12 and 13. The leaving qualification is A level.
Address Al Barsha

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · A-Level · authorised programmeCOBIS · membershipBSME · part of the associationCognita · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: A-Level (ages 16-18). A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
COBISCouncil of British International Schools

An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
Cognitaschool network

A group of schools launched in 2004; the legal entity in the footer of the site is Cognita Holdings Limited. The site names 90 schools in 21 countries, 14 curricula and more than 22,000 staff, and the numbers agree on all the pages read. The section on a school joining the group speaks of working with the owners of schools and of integrating the school, but does not say outright whether the school passes into ownership; the word "franchise" does not appear on the site. The majority owner of Cognita itself is named as Jacobs Holding AG.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A campus in Al Barsha. The school names no individual facilities: it speaks of high-quality provision and says the fee reflects it.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school says its Sixth Form teachers monitor and support pupils closely, helping them to achieve the best grades they can. It publishes no number of teachers, no qualifications, no pupil-teacher ratio and no class size.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
60
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
55
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Lycee Francais International Theodore MonodAbu Dhabi · 64.3Al Ittihad Private School, JumeirahDubai · 64.3The International School of Choueifat - Dubai Investments ParkDubai · 64.3New Academy SchoolDubai · 64.3