← Back to homeStar Private School

Sharjah, UAE · est. 2003 · Private
Illustration · Sharjah
Star Private School was launched on 25 August 2003 in the Al Azra district of Sharjah and now holds more than 1,200 pupils. The curriculum is British, the language of instruction is English, and the school lays particular emphasis on written and spoken English at every level. The main thing for a parent to know: the school ends at Year 9. The stages run from FS2 - the early years class across the seven areas of the EYFS - through primary to a four-year middle school, and the school has no senior stage, no IGCSE and no A Level. The subjects are English, Arabic, mathematics, science, social studies and Islamic education, with French or Urdu as an additional language from Year 3, plus physical education, art, moral education and information technology. Its facilities, as listed by the school, are a library, a computer laboratory and a science laboratory, a school laboratory, an activity room, an audio-visual room, a prayer room, a multipurpose hall, a canteen, a medical service, a store and a play area for the youngest children. Transport is fully outsourced and optional. The school publishes no fees at all on its site - only payment rules.
Key facts
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic, French
Admissions Every child goes through a pre-admission assessment - an interview or an observation - and the school gives the date after the online application is submitted. Age: FS2 (KG1) takes children born between 1 September 2020 and 31 August 2021, and Year 1 (KG2) those born between 1 September 2019 and 31 August 2020, so entry into the school's first class happens at 4-5 years old. For FS2 and Year 1 the school requires prior nursery attendance - this is mandatory. The documents needed are the child's original Emirates ID, an accounts clearance receipt from the previous school, copies of the father's Emirates ID and passport, the child's passport and birth certificate, a photograph, a copy of the vaccination record and, for pupils already in school, a transfer certificate, a report card and a continuation certificate. The school warns that an incomplete set of documents means the child will not be scheduled for the pre-admission observation.
Stages and year groups Grades FS2 to Year 9. The stages: Pre-Primary (FS2 and Year 1 across the seven areas of the EYFS), Primary, and a four-year Middle School. Year 9 is the school's last year: it has no senior stage, no IGCSE and no A Level, so after Year 9 a child needs another school. A second language - French or Urdu - is added from Year 3.
Address Al Azra
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which stages - from the early years programme for three-year-olds up to A-Level - this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Playground
Campus: A library, a computer laboratory, a science laboratory and a separate school laboratory, an activity room, an audio-visual room, a multipurpose hall, a prayer room, a school store, a canteen, a medical service and a play area for the early years. The school calls its classrooms child-friendly and equipped for modern teaching methods alongside traditional ones. Transport is fully outsourced and optional: the school warns that the journey takes more than an hour before and after school, that a route is not guaranteed if the family moves house mid-year, and that pre-primary and Year 2 children are brought back to school if no parent is there to receive them.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Of its services the school names a medical service in its list of facilities but does not say who staffs it. The school names no counsellor, no security staff, no CCTV and no child protection policy at all.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)60 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median81 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country