← Back to the rankingBritish Embassy School Ankara

Ankara, Turkey · est. 1959 · Private
Illustration · Ankara
A British school attached to the British Embassy in Ankara. It began in 1959 as the British Embassy Study Group, a small kindergarten housed in two rooms of the British Council and attended by a handful of children. It has moved twice since then and has stood on the diplomatic grounds of the British Embassy since 1964; the school writes that the location offers a secure environment. It is now a co-educational school for children aged three to sixteen, following the British curriculum and leading to IGCSE. The head teacher is William Phelps.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · IMYC
Languages of instruction
English
About the fees The school does not print tuition itself on the site: the admissions page names only the fees - for the application, for registration and the holding deposit, all in pounds sterling - and refers families to the school office for further details. There is no Turkish VAT note here at all, because there is no price in lira either.
Admissions An application is submitted together with a non-refundable application fee. A separate non-refundable fee is payable on the registration of each new pupil; for a pupil already at the school, a place for the following year is held against a deposit paid before the academic year ends. The school asks that further details be taken up with the school office, and gives a separate admissions telephone number and e-mail address on its contact page.
Stages and year groups The school takes children from three to sixteen in three stages: Early Years Foundation Stage, Primary and Secondary. The curriculum is the National Curriculum of England; the school enriches the first three years of Secondary with the International Middle Years Curriculum and takes students to IGCSE examinations in Years 10 and 11. There is no A-Level stage: after sixteen, students move on elsewhere. The school is co-educational.
Address Şehit Ersan Caddesi 46/A, Çankaya, 06680 Ankara
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
BSO · accreditationCOBIS · accreditationCambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe school was inspected under the British Schools Overseas scheme and recognised on the strength of that inspection; the same inspection underpins its standing in the Council of British International Schools, where it is listed as an accredited member. The school publishes the inspection report in a section of its own. There is also a record in the Cambridge International register: the school describes itself as Cambridge-affiliated and enters students for IGCSE examinations in Years 10 and 11. Its curriculum is British: the National Curriculum of England, with the first three years of secondary education enriched by the International Middle Years Curriculum.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas
A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →COBISCouncil of British International Schools
An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →IMYC
International Middle Years Curriculum: the continuation of IPC for the middle school, ages 11 to 14. The same organisation and the same thematic frame, only for teenagers.
What this means for this school. As with IPC, this is a programme for one stage rather than an accreditation of the school, and the organisation keeps no public register of the schools working to it. The entry comes from the school's own words or from the record of its accrediting organisation. The programme has no leaving certificate of its own: after it the school takes a pupil on to a final stage - IGCSE, A-Level, IB or a national programme - and that is what to look at.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results For the IGCSE examinations of the 2026 cohort the school reports that 94 per cent of grades were awarded at A-C* and 56 per cent at A or A*.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
✓School transportA bus service is normally available to pupils living in the Çankaya and Gaziosmanpasa areas, and to other areas where there is sufficient demand.
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school stands on the diplomatic grounds of the British Embassy in Çankaya, where it moved in 1964; the school writes that the site offers a secure and inspiring environment and that each move expanded its facilities.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
There is no data for this section yet.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored at the median60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)95 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median80 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 6 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country