← Back to the rankingIhsan International School, Atakent Branch

Istanbul, Turkey · Private
Illustration · Istanbul
The Atakent branch of Ihsan International School stands in Küçükçekmece on the European side of Istanbul. The institution was founded in 2019 and runs three campuses in Istanbul - Esenyurt, Atakent and Başakşehir; it is one institution with several sites rather than a group of schools, and the Atakent site has its own phone number, its own e-mail address and its own column in the fee table. Teaching follows an American curriculum with core subjects in English, while Arabic and Turkish are taught as separate subjects. The fee table shows the site running every stage from nursery to the two high school levels, and the registry name of the entry refers to an Anatolian high school.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $5 179–11 186 a year
250 000–540 000 TRY
Programmes
AP · American programme
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic, Turkish
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027 are published as one table with a separate column for each campus. For Atakent the base prices are: nursery 250,000 lira, kindergarten 389,000, primary 470,000, middle school 485,000, high school 521,000 and 540,000 lira by level. On full payment the school offers reduced prices from 200,000 to 368,000 lira, with a further 5 per cent for three siblings and 10 per cent for five. VAT is not mentioned in the announcement.
Admissions Registration runs through the form on the website, which is shared by all sites: the school asks families to start the process online and keeps a separate admissions page. For payment it invites families to contact its own finance department about instalment plans.
Stages and year groups According to the school's own fee table the site runs nursery, kindergarten, primary school, middle school and two high school levels. The school gives no separate timetable or class sizes for this site.
Address Atakent, 4. Cadde 24/1, 34307 Küçükçekmece, İstanbul
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cognia · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programmeThe site has its own entry in the College Board AP Course Ledger as an AP school. The Cognia entry stands for the institution as a whole, whose head legal entity is World Egitim Kurumlari A.Ş., and Cognia holds no separate entry for this site. The school itself states that it follows an American curriculum and is accredited by the Turkish Ministry of Education and by Cognia, formerly AdvancED. It also claims accreditation by the California state department of education, for which none of our registries holds a record.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CogniaCognia, formerly AdvancED
The widest-reaching American accreditation: some forty thousand schools in over a hundred countries. It accredits both individual schools and whole school systems. It also sells a paid membership with no inspection behind it, and that membership is often passed off as accreditation.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme
An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →AP
Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.
What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.
American programme
The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.
What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities
The school does not describe its premises on its website.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)75 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country