Ranking · Turkey · Istanbul
← Back to the ranking

Irmak Okulları

Турция Istanbul, Turkey · est. 1995 · Private
Illustration · Istanbul
74.4#7 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

A private school in the Caddebostan district on the Anatolian side of Istanbul. It was set up by the Youth Culture and Service Foundation together with Yapı Merkezi, which founded Nitelikli Eğitim Kurumları to open and run it; the school opened as a kindergarten and an eight-year primary school and added one grade a year. It teaches the Turkish national curriculum alongside three International Baccalaureate programmes and AP courses. The campus covers 11,700 square metres, with separate kindergarten, primary and high school buildings, a cafeteria with a sports hall and an auditorium seating 530.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $21 570–35 596 a year
1–1.7 million TRY
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP · AP · National programme
Admits from
4 years
Languages of instruction
Turkish
Languages taught
English
School website
About the fees Fees for the 2026-2027 academic year are published by level and grade and are all quoted without VAT: the school writes that all prices are exclusive of VAT and include current enrollment fees. The card carries the range as the school prints it, before tax: from 1,041,300 lira for the final year and grade 4 to 1,718,400 lira for kindergarten, grade 1, grade 5, the preparatory year and grade 9. VAT is added on top and the school does not give the gross figure.
Admissions Places are offered in order of application and after an individual meeting with the family, within the quota for each age group. Kindergarten groups are set by the child's year of birth, from the youngest group up to the preparatory year. The student application form is on the site and admissions run through the student affairs office.
Stages and year groups The school covers the whole path from kindergarten to graduation: three years of kindergarten, four years of primary school, four years of middle school and a preparatory year plus four years of high school. Kindergarten is described by age, 4, 5 and 6, while groups are formed by year of birth. Primary school opened together with the kindergarten and produced its first leavers in 2001; the high school opened the same year and placed its first graduates in universities in 2005.
Address Cemil Topuzlu Caddesi No: 100, Caddebostan, 34728 Kadıköy, İstanbul

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

College Board · authorised programmeIB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programmeCIS · membership
The school is listed in the College Board AP Course Ledger under number 696070. Its own site also describes International Baccalaureate work: it calls itself an IB World School since 2008, runs the PYP in the lower grades, had its Middle School recognised for the MYP in spring 2023 for grades 5 to 7, and teaches the Diploma Programme in grades 11 and 12. There is no separate IB registry entry for the school in our set. The school likewise states its own membership of the Council of International Schools. The school's second registry side is the International Baccalaureate: it names all three programmes itself and sets them out by grade, the PYP in the primary school, the MYP from grade five to grade seven and the Diploma in grades eleven and twelve. With the Council of International Schools (CIS) it holds a membership rather than an accreditation, and that is how the school describes it.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Passed IB
100%
Exam results The class of 2026 took the IB diploma in full: the school reports a 100 per cent DP diploma rate. No average score is published. Graduate numbers are counted by level: the middle school has produced 1,325 leavers since 2001, and 70 in the 2024-2025 academic year.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
Sports hall
Laboratories
Theatre or assembly hall
Library
Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio · Makerspace
Campus: An 11,700 square metre site: a 400 square metre kindergarten, a 4,000 square metre primary school, a 2,400 square metre cafeteria and sports hall, a 4,400 square metre high school and a 500 square metre auditorium seating 530. The primary building holds a library, the high school a media centre, and the school has chemistry, biology, physics and science laboratories, a computer room, video, drama and music rooms, an art and crafts room, and ceramics and dance rooms.
Source: irmak.k12.tr

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
98
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
54
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

YÜCE OkullarıAnkara · 74.4Özel Arı OkullarıAnkara · 74.6Kabataş Erkek LisesiIstanbul · 73.8TED Ankara Koleji Vakfı OkullarıAnkara · 73.8