← Back to homeİSTEK İzmir Okulları

Izmir, Turkey · est. 2017 · Private
Illustration · Izmir
İSTEK İzmir Okulları have worked in Mavişehir in the Karşıyaka district since the 2017-2018 school year and run three schools at one address: a primary school, a middle school and an Anatolian high school. The primary school follows the IB PYP programme, the middle and upper stages have departments of mathematics, science, social studies, Turkish language and literature, art and sport, and a counselling service as well. The school puts English at the centre: from the second to the twelfth grade there is a second foreign language programme on the European scale, and the high school prepares students for TOEFL, IELTS and SAT, bringing them to C1 by the eleventh grade. The school puts up a set of documents of its own - policies on assessment, academic honesty, behaviour, teaching, language, inclusive education, children's rights, and occupational health and safety. The campus's own site gives no content at present, and there is nowhere to read its fees, its student numbers or a list of its clubs.
Key facts
Languages
Turkish, English
About the fees The school does not publish its fees in text: the “Kayıt Ücretleri” page of the group gives, for each campus, only a link to a cloud folder with a document.
Admissions Into the first grade and the primary grades children are taken by interview and a readiness assessment; into the fifth grade by the İSTEK examination and an interview; into the middle grades by the school's own assessment, a conversation with a psychologist and a foreign language examination; into the preparatory and ninth grades of the Anatolian high school by a conversation with a psychologist, the İSTEK examination and the result of the state LGS examination.
Stages and year groups Grades from the first grade of primary school to the final grade of high school. The campus runs three schools at one address: a primary school, a middle school and an Anatolian high school. It has no kindergarten.
Address Mavişehir Mah. 2040. Sokak No:13, Karşıyaka, İzmir
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP · authorised programmeİSTEK Vakfı Okulları · school is part of the networkschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →İSTEK Vakfı Okullarıschool network
The schools of the Istanbul foundation İSTEK İstanbul Eğitim ve Kültür Vakfı, established by Bedrettin Dalan in 1985; the first school of the foundation its pages name as the Semiha Şakır high school in Göztepe. The foundation exists separately from the schools and holds, besides them, Yeditepe University, opened in 1996: that is how it describes its own chain - from kindergarten to university and to work. A school, for the foundation, means a separately licensed institution of one stage, and at the high school level it divides them by type as well; its own count is 22 kindergartens, 22 primary schools, 22 middle schools, 20 high schools and 14 Fen high schools, that is, about a hundred institutions, and this is a count by stage on the same campuses rather than by address. The number of kindergartens, primary schools and middle schools is the same - 22 each - while there are two fewer high schools.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities
The school does not describe its premises on its website.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical roomThere is a medical room at every site of the group; the health service has a paediatrician and school nurses.
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Security at every site is run by the group's own service, with staff licensed under Law 5188; there are day and night posts, indoor and outdoor cameras recording around the clock, and every entry and exit is logged electronically. The campus has its own policies on safety, occupational health and children's rights.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median69 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country