← Back to the rankingKartal Anadolu İmam Hatip Lisesi

Istanbul, Turkey · est. 1985 · State
Illustration · Istanbul
A state Anatolian imam hatip high school in the Kartal district of Istanbul. The school traces itself to 1985 and calls itself the first Anatolian imam hatip high school in Turkey, opened for the children of Turkish workers in Germany in order to join intensive foreign language teaching to the imam hatip curriculum. The land and the building came from the Kasaroglu family foundation, the first intake was 102 students, a quarter of them children of families living in Germany, and the teaching staff was chosen from among those the ministry was sending to work abroad. Today, by the school's own count, there are 625 students and 66 teachers, and English is the single foreign language. On top of the national curriculum the school runs the IB Diploma Programme and the Cambridge IGCSE line, and it takes part in Erasmus.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Turkish
About the fees This is a state high school of the Ministry of National Education and the site announces no tuition. The dormitories belong to the school, and their cost is not named on any page.
Admissions Entry to the high school is through the national LGS examination. For the international programmes the school explains the procedure by publishing the ministry instruction on international programmes as a separate file, and for the Cambridge line it adds a programme calendar and a booklet for applicants. No cut-off scores of its own appear on the site.
Stages and year groups Grades 9-12. An Anatolian imam hatip high school: grades nine to twelve, a single shift from 08:00 to 15:40. Two boys' dormitories belong to the school.
Address Esentepe Mahallesi, Pamuk Sokak No 3, Kartal, İstanbul
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeCambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeInternational programmes and projects are gathered into a menu section of their own, and both lines are named there: the IB diploma, with the programme brochure, the examination timetable and the ministry instruction on international programmes, and the Cambridge line, with an IGCSE booklet, a programme calendar and a guide to Cambridge upper secondary education.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
✓Boarding
Also on site: Art studio
Campus: A campus in Esentepe in the Kartal district: 46 classrooms, two workshops, a conference hall, four meeting rooms and two multi-purpose halls, 1.5 km from the district centre.
Teaching staff
There is no data for this section yet.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)84 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%)no datathe criterion switches on once there is data about the teachers Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data85 Clubs and activities (8%) scored at the median70 Value for money (6%) scored at the median65 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 5 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country