A private school in Sasalı near Çiğli, opened in the 1988-1989 school year by Zekiye Yıldırım and Ahmet Demirci; since February 2005 it has belonged to Keremoğlu Özel Eğitim İşletmeleri, owned by the Eraslan family. Bilingual teaching starts in the preschool group, with German and French added as a second language from the age of five. The school is one of the seventeen Turkish PASCH schools, the German partner school programme, and holds a FIT class. Its 53,000 square metre campus stands next to the bird sanctuary.
Key facts
Programmes
AP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Turkish, English
Languages taught
German, French
About the fees Prices are quoted without VAT, and a 10 per cent tax is added to them. Payment is either a single sum by the end of March or five instalments. The preschool fee includes breakfast, an afternoon snack and lunch; at the other stages meals are charged separately. There is a 10 per cent discount for a second child and the same for children of alumni.
Admissions Grade 9 entry follows the national LGS examination: the school's threshold is the top 15.99 per cent in Turkey. Scholarships come in bands - full within the top 0.49 per cent, three quarters within 0.99 per cent, half within 2.02 per cent and a quarter within 3.59 per cent. Applicants for Grades 10 to 12 sit the school's own Geleceğin Liderleri examination and places depend on the quota. Children coming from other schools meet the school counsellor, and admission is decided after that conversation. The papers required are identity documents for child and parent and a printout of the LGS result from the e-okul system. Appointments are made in advance for registration and for the interview.
Stages and year groups Grades Ana sınıfı, 1-12. Four stages: a preschool group, primary school, middle school and a high school with an intensive science and mathematics programme. The school writes that from Grade 3 of primary its pupils sit international Cambridge examinations (uluslararası Cambridge sınavları) but does not say which ones.
Address 154. Sokak No:1/A, Sasalı, Çiğli, 35621 İzmir
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
CIS · membershipCollege Board · authorised programmeIn the register of the Council of International Schools the school is listed as Registered, that is a member without accreditation, while the school itself calls itself a member of the council. A separate entry stands in the College Board register under number 696069, the Sasalı campus.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CISCouncil of International Schools
It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme
An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →AP
Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.
What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.
National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
There is no data for this section yet.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Campus: The campus in Sasalı near Çiğli covers 53,000 square metres beside the bird sanctuary and a nature park, with smart classrooms, laboratories, purpose-built workshops and assembly halls.
Teaching staff
There is no data for this section yet.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
There is no data for this section yet.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)63 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored at the median60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%)no datathe criterion switches on once there is data about the teachers Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored at the median70 Value for money (6%) scored at the median72 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 4 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country