Ranking · Turkey · Izmir
← Back to the ranking

Özkaya İzmir King's House School

Турция Izmir, Turkey · Private
Illustration · Izmir
72.2#24 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

A private school in Güzelbahçe, on the western edge of İzmir, part of Oğuzhan Özkaya Education Institutions. It runs the full route: Early Years from the age of three, Primary KS1-KS2, Secondary KS3-KS4 and a high school stage up to eighteen. The school describes its teaching as entirely in English and its teachers as native speakers. The framework is British, Pearson Edexcel: Pearson Edexcel Primary in the primary school, IGCSE preparation in the middle years, A Level in the high school, with AP courses and SAT preparation alongside. The school runs a student exchange with King's House School in England, founded in 1891. There are thirteen workshops on campus, among them beekeeping, horse riding, aviation with an Airbus A310 and two helicopters, robotics, ceramics, textiles and cooking. The group the school belongs to names eleven institutions of its own, 4,500 students and a 65,000 square metre İzmir campus; no figures are given for this school alone. Besides the Güzelbahçe school the group runs a high school in Karabağlar, a separate kindergarten, a study centre and two examination coaching centres - coaching centres do not count as schools.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $13 465–16 675 a year
650 000–805 000 TRY
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
About the fees Fees are set for the 2026-2027 academic year and include VAT: the school states that tax is included in every figure. The base price is the instalment plan: 650,000 lira for the Early Years, 805,000 for Grade 1, 650,000 for Grades 2 to 4, and 805,000 for the King's House Secondary and high school stages. Paid in a single sum the same stages run from 617,500 to 764,750 lira. Tuition and meals are included; transport, learning materials, uniform and optional workshops are paid separately. The group's Turkish-programme schools under their own names - Oğuzhan Özkaya Ortaokulu, Anadolu Lisesi and Fen Lisesi - appear as separate lines in the same list and cost less, from 505,000 to 625,000 lira.
Admissions Age is counted from the first of September. Applicants are asked for report cards from the last two years, an identity card or passport, a health report with vaccination records, and, for the Early Years, a development report; Secondary and high school applicants also bring two teacher references. Foreign documents need a notarised Turkish or English translation. Early Years and Grade 1 applicants are assessed through play-based observation; from Grade 2 the school sets an academic level test and an English assessment covering listening, speaking, reading and writing, thirty to sixty minutes depending on age, followed by a guidance interview. Early registration runs from January to March and ordinary registration from April to August; results come in seven to ten working days, up to two weeks in the busiest period. There is no boarding; the school helps families find vetted homestay accommodation.
Stages and year groups The stages run from Early Years (ages 3-5) through Primary (6-10) and Secondary (11-14) to the high school (15-18). The school caps class sizes: a maximum of 16 children in the Early Years, 20 in Primary and Secondary, and 22 in the high school. How many classes there are at each stage is not stated.
Address Yelki Mahallesi, Namık Elal Caddesi, 2540 Sokak No: 4-9, Güzelbahçe, İzmir

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

COBIS · membership
The school is listed in the COBIS directory, the association of British international schools, in the compliance membership category: that category looks at organisational standards and does not assess the quality of teaching at all. The school puts it more strongly itself - its English home page calls it a COBIS accredited international institution, and its programme overview page adds an IB Diploma pathway. Neither claim is backed by a registry entry: the school holds COBIS membership and not COBIS accreditation, there is no International Baccalaureate entry for it anywhere, and its own international school page names no IB at all, only Pearson Edexcel. Examinations follow the British Pearson Edexcel line: IGCSE in the middle years, A Level in the high school, with AP courses and SAT preparation alongside. The school publishes no examination centre number. A separate accreditations page also names Eco-Schools, College Board, InvestIN and the Global Schools Program.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

COBISCouncil of British International Schools

An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeIGCSE, A-Level

Programmes of the University of Cambridge: the school teaches to Cambridge syllabuses and enters its pupils for exams that Cambridge marks itself. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

What this means for this school. The papers are marked by Cambridge, not by the school, so a leaver's grade does not depend on how strict their own teachers are with them. To enter pupils for these exams a school has to be registered as a Cambridge exam centre; registration as a centre is permission to run exams rather than accreditation of the school, and it says nothing about the quality of teaching. IGCSE is taken at around Year 10 or 11 and A-Level in the final years, and it is the A-Level results that carry a pupil into British and many other universities.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
Sports hall
Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
Library
Catering
School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground · Makerspace
Campus: The Yelki campus in the Güzelbahçe district: modern classrooms with technology, gardens and natural outdoor areas, and thirteen separate workshops. The group gives its İzmir campus as 65,000 square metres and keeps an Airbus A310 and two helicopters on it for the aviation workshop.
Clubs and activities: list on the school website

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
Nurse or medical room
Counsellor
Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
Anti-bullying policy

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
75
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
65
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
79
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Gökkuşağı Koleji Ankara Çankaya KampüsüAnkara · 72.2Aljazari International School of Science and TechnologyIstanbul · 72.1ENKA Schools İstanbulIstanbul · 72Terakki Vakfı OkullarıIstanbul · 72