Ranking · Turkey · Istanbul
← Back to the ranking

Üsküdar Amerikan Lisesi

Турция Istanbul, Turkey · est. 1876 · Private
Illustration · Istanbul
69.2#69 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

A high school of the SEV foundation in Baglarbasi, Uskudar, Istanbul, founded in 1876. It has 132 teachers, 17 per cent of them foreign. There is no boarding, and 15 per cent of students move to Istanbul from other cities at their own expense in order to study here. Every subject except the Turkish culture courses such as history and geography is taught in English, and students choose German or French as a second foreign language. The first year is a preparatory class built around intensive English, and no English is required on entry. The academic departments are Turkish language and literature, English, social sciences, mathematics, sciences, second foreign languages, physical education, art and computing. The school names its wide range of electives from Grade 9 as one of its distinguishing features. The school day starts at 8:00. The school counts over ninety clubs and keeps its own traditions: May Day, Brownie Day, Reunion, costume and make-up contests, Spirit Week, a talent show, Oktoberfest, a Teachers' Day show, a winter meeting of young alumni and a career day. The school belongs to the group of institutions of the SEV foundation.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
English, Turkish
Languages taught
German, French
School website
About the fees The school names no tuition figures on its site.
Admissions Students enter the preparatory class from among those finishing Grade 8, through the national central examination system; the school publishes detailed conditions as a separate registration guide during the admissions period. No English is required on entry: the preparatory year is given to intensive English alongside Turkish, science, mathematics, German or French, physical education, drawing and music.
Stages and year groups Grades Hazırlık - Lise 4, 5 classes. Five levels: a compulsory preparatory class and four years of high school. Average class size is 20 in the preparatory class and 24 from Grade 9 to Grade 12.
Address Vakıf Sokak No:1, Bağlarbaşı 34664, Üsküdar, İstanbul

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

CIS · accreditationIB · DP · authorised programmeCollege Board · authorised programme
The school is listed in the IB registry under number 049954, in the CIS directory as accredited, and in the College Board AP Course Ledger for 2025-2026 under number 696180. The school says it has run the IB Diploma Programme since the 2014-2015 school year and graduated its first IB diploma students in 2017, and it confirms its CIS accreditation separately. It names no AP courses on its own pages.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results The school names the external tests and contests its students take: TOEFL, IELTS, European Language Portfolio examinations, the national university entrance examinations, the TUBITAK olympiads, the Waterloo Math Contest, the American Math Competition, the BEST physics contest, entrepreneurship contests and the Antalya mind games contest. It gives no result figures.

Facilities

The school does not describe its premises on its website.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school has 132 teachers, 17 per cent of them foreign; the foreign teachers teach English, mathematics, French, German, biology, chemistry and physics.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
95
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
65
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Başkent Üniversitesi Özel Ayşeabla OkullarıAnkara · 69.2Lycée français Charles de Gaulle d'AnkaraAnkara · 69.2Muradiye Eryaman Sevgi KolejiAnkara · 69.2Bilfen İzmir Anadolu LisesiIzmir · 69.3