Home · UAE · Al Ain
← Back to home

Al Ain British Academy

ОАЭ Al Ain, UAE · Private
Illustration · Al Ain
71.1#76 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Al Ain British Academy is an Aldar Academies school on Al Salam Street in the Sarouj district of Al Ain, and before it was renamed it was called Al Ain Academy. It runs the English National Curriculum all the way through: from FS1 at age three to Year 13, with I/GCSE examinations at the end of the middle years and A-levels at the top of the school. Teaching is in English, Arabic and Islamic studies are taught as the UAE Ministry of Education requires, and modern foreign languages are on the subject list as well. An ADEK inspection in November 2021 rated the school “Very Good”. Among its facilities the school lists an indoor swimming pool, a sports hall, artificial-turf pitches, netball and basketball courts, two separate playgrounds and a full-time nurse on staff. The results it publishes itself: 100 per cent of students meet ADEK's GCSE requirements and 70 per cent earn grades 9-7; every student sits A-levels, with 96 per cent at A*-C.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $11 523–17 263 a year
42 320–63 400 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027: FS1 AED 42,320, FS2 to Year 6 43,780, Years 7-8 53,640, Year 9 57,480, Years 10-13 63,400. On top of the fee there is a one-off registration charge of 5 per cent of the annual fee, payable when the place is accepted. The bus costs AED 5,000 a year for a round trip, operated by Emirates Transport. Uniform, meals, transport, examination fees and extracurricular activities outside the school day are not included in the fee.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 - Year 13. The stages run straight through: FS1-FS2 covers children from three to five, Key Stage 1 is Years 1-2, Key Stage 2 is Years 3-6, and the middle and upper school run from Year 7 to Year 13, leading to I/GCSE and A-levels.
Address Al Salam Street, Sarooj

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

BSO · accreditationBSME · part of the association
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeIGCSE, A-Level

Programmes of the University of Cambridge: the school teaches to Cambridge syllabuses and enters its pupils for exams that Cambridge marks itself. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

What this means for this school. The papers are marked by Cambridge, not by the school, so a leaver's grade does not depend on how strict their own teachers are with them. To enter pupils for these exams a school has to be registered as a Cambridge exam centre; registration as a centre is permission to run exams rather than accreditation of the school, and it says nothing about the quality of teaching. IGCSE is taken at around Year 10 or 11 and A-Level in the final years, and it is the A-Level results that carry a pupil into British and many other universities.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Campus:

Teaching staff

There is no data for this section yet.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
66
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Sharjah English SchoolSharjah · 71.1GEMS World Academy - Abu DhabiAbu Dhabi · 71.1GEMS Modern AcademyDubai · 71.1RAK AcademyRas Al Khaimah · 71.1