Home · UAE · Abu Dhabi
← Back to home

GEMS World Academy - Abu Dhabi

ОАЭ Abu Dhabi, UAE · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
71.1#76 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

GEMS World Academy - Abu Dhabi stands in Najmat on Al Reem Island, where the school moved in 2022, and belongs to the GEMS network. Its curriculum is built from two frameworks at once: the International Baccalaureate and the National Curriculum of England. The primary and middle stages run the IB Primary Years and Middle Years Programmes, an IGCSE route is added in Years 10 and 11, and the school describes the Diploma Programme and its Career-related Programme, with a BTEC qualification in business, as future pathways: at present it takes children from the first Foundation Stage year to Year 11, while its accreditations page states an intake to Year 12. Its community holds more than ninety nationalities. A particular point of pride is the Innovation Studio with robotics, artificial intelligence and augmented and virtual reality, along with partnerships with SeaWorld and TeamLab. The main thing a parent should know: the senior stage is still being built out, and the school does not yet award the IB diploma.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $15 091–20 120 a year
55 420–73 890 AED
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP · Cambridge · IGCSE · BTEC
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
About the fees Fees for 2026/27: 55,420 dirhams for the first foundation year, 59,530 for the second and for Year 1, 65,680 for Years 2 to 6, 67,740 for Years 7 to 10 and 73,890 for Years 11 to 13. Payment comes in three termly parts: 40 percent and then 30 percent each. A third child in the family is given a 10 percent discount. A place for the following year is held by a non-refundable re-enrolment charge, which is then deducted from the first term's fee. Alongside its own scale the school publishes the amounts approved by the Abu Dhabi education authority.
Stages and year groups The stages run right through from the first foundation year. The early years follow the International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme and the middle years the Middle Years Programme, and in Years 10 and 11 an IGCSE route is added. The International Baccalaureate Diploma and its career-related programme the school describes as routes still to come: the homepage says it currently admits children from the first foundation year to Year 11, while the accreditations page gives the intake as running to Year 12.
Address Najmat, Al Reem Island

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeCIS · membershipIB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programmeGEMS · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BTEC

A British vocational qualification from Pearson: not an academic course with an exam at the end, but a programme of practical assignments in a particular trade, from engineering and business to art and sport.

What this means for this school. Teaching and assessment work differently from A-level: instead of written exams there is a run of practical assignments marked by the school, while Pearson checks the school itself and samples the work. British universities do accept BTEC, but not all of them and not for every course: level 3 carries the same UCAS points as A-level, and that is what a family aiming at a particular university should look at. For a child who needs the classic academic route, BTEC is not a replacement for A-level but a different path.

GEMSschool network

GEMS Education is a private school group that describes itself on its own site as one of the oldest and largest K-12 (to Grade 12 / Year 13) private education providers in the world. The site dates its start to 1959 («Our story began in 1959«, «65+ Years of Legacy«), while another page on the same site says «over 60 Years of Legacy«. School counts on the site disagree: the homepage says both «52 schools across the UAE, Qatar and Egypt« and «Choose from our list of over 47 schools«, while the Our Company page says GEMS has schools «in the Middle East, North Africa, Asia, Europe and North America«. Students: «200,000 students from over 176 countries« (Our Company) and «over 200,000« (homepage). On ownership the site is explicit: «GEMS Education own, operate and manage schools globally« — it both owns and manages, but does not say which schools fall into which category.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground · Makerspace
Campus: A purpose-built campus in Najmat on Al Reem Island, occupied since 2022. The school lists music rooms and practice studios, spacious art and activity rooms, an extensive library, dedicated spaces for Arabic and Islamic education, a canteen, a bookshop and a uniform shop, prayer rooms, a parent cafe and an Innovation Studio. On the science side there are fully equipped laboratories for chemistry, physics and biology, the Innovation Studio with robotics, artificial intelligence and augmented and virtual reality, and a secure wireless network. On the sports side there are indoor and outdoor play areas, a six-court sports hall with audiovisual equipment and a permanent stage, a full-sized football pitch, a 25-metre six-lane swimming pool and a separate learner pool. The school also names CAD/CAM workshops, a food technology room and a gaming space.

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
97
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
60
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Sharjah English SchoolSharjah · 71.1GEMS Modern AcademyDubai · 71.1RAK AcademyRas Al Khaimah · 71.1Al Ain British AcademyAl Ain · 71.1