Home · UAE · Sharjah
← Back to home

Al Mawahib British Private School

ОАЭ Sharjah, UAE · est. 2004 · Private
Illustration · Sharjah
67.2#181 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Al Mawahib British Private School stands in the Al Abar area of the Halwan suburb of Sharjah and has been running since 2004. What sets it apart from the emirate's other Cambridge schools is a daily programme of Qur'an memorisation and revision overseen by the Qur'an and Sunnah Foundation in Sharjah - and the school gives a fee discount for memorisation: from 5 per cent for ten juz' to 50 per cent for the whole Qur'an. The curriculum is Cambridge: EYFS from FS1 at three years old, Cambridge Primary in Years 1-6 and Cambridge Lower Secondary in Years 7-9; Arabic, Islamic education, UAE social studies and moral education follow the ministry programme. The Sharjah Private Education Authority, which inspects the school every year, has rated it "GOOD". Its provision includes a library with books and computers, an ICT lab, science and chemistry laboratories, an art room, a clinic with qualified healthcare staff, an outdoor playground and an indoor free-flow area for the youngest children. The day is long: 7:30 to 13:40 for the early years and 7:10 to 14:30 for Years 1-9.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $3 385–6 535 a year
12 430–24 000 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
School website
Registration fee
≈ $27
100 AED
About the fees The annual fee in UAE dirhams for 2026-2027, tuition only: 12,430 for FS1 and FS2, 13,555 for Year 1, 14,685 for Year 2, 15,815 for Year 3, 16,940 for Year 4, 18,070 for Year 5, 19,200 for Year 6, 20,300 for Year 7, 20,900 for Year 8, 22,000 for Year 9 and 24,000 for Year 10. With books (1,000-2,500), educational resources (300) and uniform (350-600) the total comes to 14,270-27,790 dirhams. From Year 8 the school gives a 10 per cent FAZAA discount, and 15 per cent from Year 10. Sibling discounts: 5 per cent for a second and third child, 10 per cent for a fourth and beyond; the Qur'an memorisation discount runs from 5 to 50 per cent of tuition. Discounts do not combine - the largest applies - though the sibling discount and the full-payment discount may be used together. The 500-dirham seat reservation is non-refundable, as is the 100-dirham assessment fee. Transport by zone: Sharjah outside Al Rahmaniya and Al Suyoh 4,500 dirhams two-way and 4,000 one-way, Al Rahmaniya and Al Suyoh 5,000, Ajman 5,500.
Admissions Admission runs in three steps: an online application telling the school about the child, a review by the admissions team answered within two to three working days, then a placement assessment and an interview with parent and pupil. Acceptance depends on the assessment, the interview and former school reports; a deposit secures the seat after the acceptance letter. Priority goes to siblings of current pupils, then the date of application and seat availability. The documents needed are two photographs, a valid passport, visa and Emirates ID, a birth certificate, a vaccination record for FS1, FS2 and the first year, an attested transcript for the previous year and a transfer certificate. The 100-dirham assessment fee is non-refundable. The admissions office is open on Sunday from 9:00 to 13:00 and Monday to Thursday from 7:30 to 15:30.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 to Year 9 by curriculum; fees are published up to Year 10. The stages: EYFS begins with FS1 at three years old, then FS2, Cambridge Primary in Years 1-6 and Cambridge Lower Secondary in Years 7-9. The school's fee table, however, runs to Year 10 - one year beyond the curriculum it describes, which is worth checking with the school. The day: FS1 and FS2 from 7:30 to 13:40, Years 1-9 from 7:10 to 14:30, Monday to Thursday.
Address Al Abar area, Halwan Suburb

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio · Playground
Campus: Classrooms with modern technology and interactive tools, a library with books, computers and access to online resources, an ICT lab, a science laboratory, a separate chemistry laboratory with equipment and safety protocols, and an art room with materials from painting to digital art. A clinic with healthcare staff. For the youngest children there is an outdoor playground and an indoor free-flow area for self-directed learning. Sport is described in general terms - games and activities for fitness, teamwork and leadership. School transport is provided.
Source: ambps.com

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school clinic is fully equipped and staffed by qualified healthcare professionals: daily care, hygiene support and emergency services. The school describes its wellbeing work as that of a "happiness and protection team" responsible for a safe school environment, emotional security and the physical health of its children. The school names no counsellor of its own, no security staff, no CCTV and no separately published child protection policy.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
87
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Ignite SchoolDubai · 67.2Global Indian International School, Abu DhabiAbu Dhabi · 67.2Merryland International SchoolAbu Dhabi · 67.3Lycée Français International de l'AFLECDubai · 67.1