← Back to homeAlmunecar International School

Almuñécar, Spain · Private
Illustration · Almuñécar
Almunecar International School is a small British school on the Costa Tropical that has been teaching on this coast for 36 years: 250 pupils, one class per year group and no more than 15-22 children in a class, taking children from the age of three through to Sixth Form. Teaching follows the English curriculum, the Cambridge line runs from Year 1 to Year 13 with checkpoints, and leavers gain both the British and the recognised Spanish qualification. The fee is unusually generous in what it covers: tuition, core textbooks, online subscriptions, the bus and lunch, and for Years 1 to 13 also Cambridge registrations, checkpoints and the GCSE, AS and A2 examination entries. The school day runs late, from 9:50 to 17:00, and the bus runs five routes with an app that lets a parent follow their child's journey. The school publishes its results: a 100 per cent pass rate at A2 with 73 per cent of grades A* to C, and 96 per cent at GCSE. Computing starts at five, in Year 1, on the school's Chromebooks.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $8 988–13 582 a year
7 956–12 022 EUR
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Languages of instruction
English
About the fees The fee for 2026/27 is charged by the year and paid in ten monthly instalments, and the school's own notice also sets out a three-payment termly split. By stage: Early Years 7956 EUR, Year 1-2: 9246, Year 3-6: 10182, Year 7-9: 11014, Year 10-11: 11900 and Year 12-13: 12022 EUR a year. A registration fee of 600 EUR is payable every year and is non-refundable. A third child pays half the youngest child's fee. The fee includes tuition, core textbooks, online subscriptions, the bus service and lunch, and from Year 1 to Year 13 Cambridge registrations, checkpoints and the GCSE, AS and A2 entries; resits for public examinations are not included, nor are the Hague apostille and certified translations of certificates.
Admissions Admission is from age three, from kindergarten up to the Sixth Form. The school takes foreigners and names its own mix: about 60 percent of pupils are Spanish, 20 percent British and the rest of other nationalities. The level of English a child needs depends on the year group, and the head teacher names it at the first interview; the school publishes no separate threshold.
Stages and year groups Grades Early Years (from age 3) - Year 13. There is one class per year group, with a maximum of 15-22 pupils, sometimes split into two groups. Lessons run from 9:50 to 17:00, and the bus collects each child on its own route.
Address Calle Pinariego 1
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results The school publishes its leavers' results: a 100 percent pass rate at A2 and 73 percent of grades from A* to C, and a 96 percent pass rate at GCSE. It does not give average scores or the year the figures refer to.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school stands in Almunecar on the Costa Tropical; lunch and the bus are included in the fee, the bus runs five routes, and the school has an app that shows a parent their child's route. Classrooms have digital whiteboards and Chromebooks, and from Year 5 the school advises parents to buy their child a Chromebook of their own.
Clubs and activities (2): Sports clubs · Drama club
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp; whether it takes children from outside is not stated on the website
The 2026 Summer School / Cole de Verano runs from 29 June to 24 July for children from 3 to 13, Monday to Friday from 9:30 to 14:00, entirely in English with native-speaker teachers: learning, games, sport, art projects and outdoor activities. It takes place in the school's main building in Urbanización Los Pinos, with an optional bus. The price is 495 euros for the full month and 295 euros for two weeks, with discounts, including for the school's own pupils.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
All teachers, the school says, hold British qualifications and are experienced, many of them having taught here for many years; in secondary each subject has its own specialist teacher. By name it lists the head teacher Fiona Jacobs and the deputy head Kate Reed, and there are heads of the key stages. A class has about 15-22 pupils, one class per year, sometimes split into two groups. The school gives no number of teachers and no pupil-teacher ratio.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)85 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data64 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country