Home · Portugal · Cascais
← Back to home

Aprendizes

Португалия Cascais, Portugal · Private
Illustration · Cascais
69.7#27 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

A full-day school in Cascais, not far from Oeiras and Lisbon: it carries a child from the age of three to eighteen and keeps two curricula at once - the Portuguese national curriculum in the pre-school and primary stages and the Cambridge international curriculum from the middle school, with IGCSE examinations in Grades 9 and 10 and A-Levels in Grades 11 and 12. The language of lessons changes with the stage, and the school says so plainly: in the pre-school and primary stages Portuguese is the main language of instruction while the children hear and use English every day; from the middle school English becomes the main teaching language and Portuguese is taken as a subject, as a first or second language, alongside Spanish and French. It works by active learning, High-Scope, Waldorf and Nordic methods, is recognised as a UNESCO Associated School, feeds its pupils vegetarian and organic food and keeps a no-phone rule. It is open from eight in the morning to half past six in the evening, with an extended day from five to six. The school states its Cambridge examination results as pass rates: 83 per cent at IGCSE at grade C or above and 93 per cent at A-Level. Places are currently full and the school says honestly that pre-registration does not guarantee them; from Grade 7, on entering the Cambridge curriculum, an English test is required. The fee amounts are set out in a separate price list, and the enrolment pages name only the kinds of payment: a registration fee, an admission fee, monthly tuition, insurance and the extended day. Siblings are given discounts of 10 and 20 per cent. For child protection the school has a separate address for enquiries.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Portuguese, English
Languages taught
Spanish, French
School website
Admissions An application may be made at any time of year, but the school warns at once that it is full and that pre-registration does not guarantee a place; the process itself opens in the autumn of the year before the desired year of entry. It asks for reports from the previous school and, where they exist, specialists' assessments, in Portuguese or in English. From Grade 7, when a pupil enters the Cambridge curriculum, an English proficiency test must be taken; those whose language falls short are given support by the school. The school names no requirements as to nationality or residence.
Stages and year groups Grades pre-school stage ages 3-6, Grades 1-4, Grades 5-8, Grades 9-10 IGCSE, Grades 11-12 A-Level. There are five stages: pre-school from three to six, primary from Grade 1 to Grade 4, middle from Grade 5 to Grade 8, upper secondary from Grade 9 to Grade 10 on the IGCSE programme and the leaving stage from Grade 11 to Grade 12 on A-Levels. There are two curricula at once: the Portuguese national curriculum in the pre-school and primary stages and the Cambridge international curriculum from the middle stage upwards. The school belongs to the UNESCO Associated Schools network, works by active learning, High-Scope, Waldorf and Nordic methods and keeps a no-phone rule.
Address Rua dos Depósitos de Água, 2750-561 Cascais

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

A* and A at IGCSE
83%
Exam results The school states its Cambridge examination results as pass rates: 83 per cent at IGCSE at grade C or above and 93 per cent at A-Level. It gives neither the number of leavers nor average subject grades.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a separate address for child protection matters - childprotection@aprendizes.pt - set out on the contact page next to the school's general address.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
60
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
62
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Astoria International SchoolLisbon · 69.5Prime School International - Campus LisbonLisbon · 69.3Colégio Mira RioLisbon · 69Sapienti International SchoolCascais · 69