Home · Portugal · Lisbon
← Back to home

Colégio Mira Rio

Португалия Lisbon, Portugal · Private
Illustration · Lisbon
69.0#30 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The college stands on Estrada de Telheiras in Lisbon and teaches girls only: every text speaks of pupils in the feminine, and the college declares differentiated education one of its three foundations alongside personalised and integral education. The project rests on a Christian view of the person. Each pupil has a precetora, a mentor who keeps the link between college and family and builds a plan of academic and personal development with the girl. Stages run from nursery and kindergarten through the three cycles of basic education to the upper stage with the IB Diploma, which the college opened in September 2019 after starting the authorisation process back at its former site in Restelo. The language of lessons is Portuguese: the site, the pages for parents, the stage descriptions and the admission requirements are written in Portuguese. English is taught daily as a separate subject, certified by Cambridge Assessment International Education, and begins in kindergarten. Mathematics in the first cycle follows the Singapore method, and teachers took separate training with the Higher School of Education of Porto. The college calls its IB Diploma bilingual and equivalent to completed Portuguese secondary education: under Portuguese orders its results open entry to every university in the country in place of the national exams. Meals are cooked on site and a door-to-door bus runs.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge
Preschool stage
yes
Languages of instruction
Portuguese
Languages taught
English
School website
About the fees The college publishes no monthly fees on its site: the amounts sit in the administrative regulations, issued as a separate document, and meal prices are set each year and named in the same regulations. Only the price list for extracurricular activities is published openly.
Admissions The college teaches girls and begins admission with a visit: it invites families to come, see the educational project and ask questions, and keeps two forms on the site, one to request information and one to book a visit. Entry is offered to every stage: nursery, kindergarten, cycle 1 from year 1 to 4, cycle 2 in years 5 and 6, cycle 3 from year 7 to 9, and the upper stage with the IB Diploma. The college names no requirements of nationality, language or previous school on its admission pages.
Stages and year groups Stages: nursery, kindergarten, the first cycle of basic education from year 1 to 4, the second cycle in years 5 and 6, the third cycle from year 7 to 9, and the upper stage where the IB Diploma runs. The first cycle has daily English lessons and Singapore mathematics, the upper stage the IB Diploma with workshops, conferences, university-led projects and internships.
Address Estrada de Telheiras nº 113, 1600-768 Lisboa

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programmeCambridge · authorised programme
The school names Cambridge Assessment International Education certification for English in cycle 1. The school is not in the official Cambridge registry: the Portuguese list was swept in full on 27.09.2026 and agreed with the registry's own counter. The record therefore stands on the school's own word and does not count towards the score.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What this status would mean. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The school is not in the organisation's register: the status comes from the school's own words. Which stages - from the early years programme for three-year-olds up to A-Level - this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Meals are cooked at the college itself, menus are posted a month ahead and special diets are accommodated; meals are taken regularly or occasionally. A door-to-door bus runs to the college and back. Schoolbooks can be ordered at enrolment and collected at the start of the year.
Clubs and activities: Aloha · Atelier de Línguas · Ballet · Conservatório · Dança · Espanhol · Futsal · Ginástica Acrobática · Judo · Natação · Teatro · Voleibol · Xadrez

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: The training of first cycle lead teachers in the Singapore mathematics method was run together with the Escola Superior de Educação do Porto.
Each pupil has a precetora, a mentor who keeps the link between college and family and builds a plan of academic and personal development with the girl; the college calls her the key figure of its project. The lead teachers of the first cycle took separate training in the Singapore method of mathematics with the support of the Higher School of Education of Porto.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
74
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Sapienti International SchoolCascais · 69Seixal International SchoolSeixal · 68.9Colégio GuadalupeCorroios · 68.9Prime School International - Campus LisbonLisbon · 69.3