← Back to homeColegio Alameda de Osuna - Alameda International School

Madrid, Spain · Private
Illustration · Madrid
Colegio Alameda de Osuna, also called Alameda International School, stands in the Alameda de Osuna district of Madrid near Barajas and runs two IB programmes at the two ends of its cycle: the Primary Years Programme from three to twelve and the Diploma Programme at the senior stage. In the baccalaureate the school offers a choice of two routes - the Spanish LOMLOE and the IB Diploma. It takes children from two: the first cycle of preschool is the two-year-olds, the second is three, four and five, and from age three the school runs its own sensory project, CAOS, which develops the artistic and musical side. Its sports provision is large: more than ten thousand square metres with a sports hall, courts for hockey, padel, football, basketball, judo, dance and minibasket, and two indoor swimming pools. Meals are prepared by its own nutrition and kitchen team, daily from fresh produce, seasonal ingredients and local suppliers, and the school publishes menus separately by stage. There is a music school of its own, EMA. The main thing a parent needs to know: the school has no Middle Years Programme between the PYP and the Diploma, and it publishes no fees.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP
Admissions Admission starts with the form on the admission page: the family gives the number of children and the stage and asks for a visit to the school, and the admissions staff get in touch. New pupils are admitted subject to available places and in the order of the school's own priorities, which it does not set out. After the decision to admit, the family hands in the enrolment form, proof of payment of the enrolment fee, a copy of the family book, 4 photographs, a copy of the vaccination record for nursery and a copy of the DNI or passport of a parent or guardian. The school names no entrance tests, language requirements or deadlines; it writes nothing separately about children from other countries. In nursery the first weeks are a settling-in period: guidance staff and support teachers work in the classroom alongside the class teachers, and from the first day a child can stay for the full day.
Stages and year groups Grades preschool from age 2 - baccalaureate, up to age 18. The stages are: the first cycle of preschool, the two-year-olds; the second cycle, three, four and five; primary school; secondary school; and the baccalaureate. The IB Primary Years Programme covers the ages three to twelve, that is preschool and primary; in the baccalaureate there are two routes, the Spanish LOMLOE and the IB Diploma Programme. The school has no Middle Years Programme between them.
Address Paseo Alameda de Osuna 60
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programmeGrupo Educativo 3A · school is part of the networkschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Grupo Educativo 3Aschool network
Grupo Educativo 3A calls itself Colegios 3A on its site; it is a group of three secular schools in Madrid. Alameda International School in Alameda de Osuna and Arcángel International School in Aluche are private schools, while the site describes Colegio Ábaco in Carabanchel as "concertado-privado"; all three teach up to Bachillerato. The group gives no founding year but writes of "more than 60 years", and its figures block lists 60 years of experience, 3,900 students, 1,600 families and 700 staff. Besides the schools, the group includes the EMA music school and sports vocational training (FP) programmes at Alameda. The group's site is colegios3a.com.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: The sports provision occupies more than ten thousand square metres: a sports hall, courts for hockey, padel, football, basketball, judo, dance and minibasket, and two indoor swimming pools. Meals are prepared by the school's own nutrition and kitchen team - daily from fresh produce, seasonal ingredients and local suppliers - and the school publishes menus in separate sets by stage, starting with preschool.
Clubs and activities: EMA music school
Summer programme away from campus: . The school runs no camp of its own on campus
In summer the school runs the "El planazo del verano" programme. For nursery from 3 to 6 and for primary school from grade 1 to grade 6 - a day camp at the school from 22 June to 24 July: themed weeks, games in English, the pool, nature outings, art and sport; registration until 2 June. For pupils from grade 6 of primary to year 2 of ESO - the residential Navatormes English camp in the Sierra de Gredos from 2 to 14 July: archery, horse and mountain trails, natural pools and workshops with qualified teachers and native speakers; registration until 22 May. The school does not state prices on the page.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)95 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data61 Value for money (6%) scored at the median67 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country