Home · Spain · Chiva
← Back to home

Colegio Internacional Levante

Spain Chiva, Spain · Private
Illustration · Chiva
70.0#196 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Colegio Internacional Levante stands in Chiva near Valencia and belongs to the Institucion Internacional SEK - the same institution that runs the SEK schools; the school's former name was SEK-Levante and its email is still on the sekmail.com domain. A network in itself gives a school no external recognition. Its International Baccalaureate continuum, though, is complete and set out stage by stage: the Primary Years Programme for children from three to eleven, the Middle Years Programme from year five of primary to year four of ESO, and the Diploma Programme in the bachillerato. In parallel the school runs the national bachillerato, so a leaver chooses between the Spanish and the international route. The school is listed as an Apple Distinguished School. Family services are named plainly: school transport across Valencia, its outskirts and surrounding villages, with an app for real-time route tracking; a canteen with its own kitchen, where menus for intolerances and allergies are prepared on medical prescription and checked by the school medical service; a doctor at the school throughout the school day; a guidance department; a playroom; a CEMU centre; a summer school and extracurricular activities. The history the school lays out as a timeline from 1892 is the history of the whole institution rather than of this campus, and it does not state a founding year for the school in Chiva. Lessons, the school says, are taught mainly in Spanish and English on a bilingual model, building up to advanced English.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP · National programme
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English
School website
Summer camp
Yes, open to all
Admissions The school describes admission as follows: first an application for a place, then a personal interview at which the family hears about the school's project, and a visit to see how the school works with its pupils; then the pupil sits an entrance test assessing skills and knowledge, and the school checks the documents to complete enrolment. Places, the school says, are limited. Children are admitted from the first cycle of infant education up to the bachillerato. The school does not write about foreigners or citizenship.
Stages and year groups Grades kindergarten from age 3 - the bachillerato. The stages run right through: Educacion Infantil, Educacion Primaria, Educacion Secundaria, the national bachillerato and the IB Diploma Programme. The IB programmes are laid over this pattern as follows: the PYP covers ages three to eleven, the MYP runs from year five of primary to year four of ESO, and the Diploma Programme covers the bachillerato. So in years five and six of primary the PYP and the MYP overlap, and the school says so itself.
Address Calle Rio Jalon, 25, 46370 Chiva, Valencia

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programmeSEK · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

SEKschool network

A Spanish organisation, founded in 1892; the site calls it Institución Internacional SEK, and signs the network of schools and universities "SEK-IES", International Education Systems. The numbers diverge: the home page names 26 schools, 2 universities, 17 countries and more than 25,000 pupils, while the "Red educativa internacional" page lists the same 26 schools - 14 "Colegios SEK" and 12 "Colegios IES" - and three universities. The Portuguese school stands among the "Colegios IES"; the history page puts its purchase in 2022. Whether the organisation owns the schools or manages them is not said. Not to be confused with SEK Education Group: that one has its own site, sek.es, and Portugal is not in its list of countries.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A canteen with its own kitchen: menus are prepared on site, and those for intolerances and allergies on medical prescription and under the school medical service's supervision. School transport covers Valencia, its outskirts and the surrounding villages, and families who take the service have an app for real-time route tracking. There is a playroom and a CEMU centre.
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp and takes children from outside as well
In summer the school runs a Summer School - in 2026 from 23 June to 31 July, full day from 9:30 to 16:00 with lunch and transport or half day until 13:45, bookable by the week; it takes both its own pupils and children from outside. There are four programmes: Little Explorers for children from 15 months to 3 years; English in Levante, entirely in English, from three-year-olds to the second year of ESO; a music camp with teachers from the conservatoire for primary and secondary pupils, from 23 June to 17 July; and the Levante Adventure Camp from age three to the second year of ESO. Most programmes cost 500 euros for the whole period full day and 380 half day for the school's own pupils, 530 and 400 for outside children; per week 150 and 115 euros for own pupils, 155 and 125 for outside children. The music camp is 200 euros a week full day and 175 half day. The camp has a pool with a lifeguard, sports grounds and a medical service.

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A doctor is present at the school throughout the school day - the school lists this as a service of its own. The medical service checks the canteen menus, and special diets are prepared on medical prescription. A guidance department works separately.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
95
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
74
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Shoreless Lake School at MurciaTotana · 70Colegio Alameda de Osuna - Alameda International SchoolMadrid · 70IES Histórico Bachiller SabucoAlbacete · 70IES Lucas MalladaHuesca · 70