Home · Spain · Barcelona
← Back to home

Col.legi Lestonnac Barcelona

Spain Barcelona, Spain · Private
Illustration · Barcelona
67.4#290 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Col.legi Lestonnac Barcelona stands on Carrer Pau Claris in central Barcelona and belongs to the Order of the Company of Mary Our Lady - the same congregation that runs the Lestonnac schools in Tarragona, Badalona, A Coruna, Almeria, Bergara, Cangas, Granada, Irun, Logrono, Madrid, Mollet del Valles and other towns; the name Lestonnac by itself does not identify the school, its address does. Of itself the school speaks as a tradition of more than four hundred years of teaching. The stages run right through and are listed plainly on its home page: nursery, kindergarten, primary school, ESO, the national bachillerato and the international bachillerato - that is, the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme stands as a separate stage beside the Spanish one. What a parent needs to know about the site: the campus is an urban one, divided into zones by stage - a nursery building, a kindergarten building, an ESO and bachillerato building, playgrounds, a lunch area, common spaces, a swimming pool and a church. Among its services the school names a secretariat, a reception and study room, a lunch space, a guidance department and a school nurse, while extracurricular activities are divided into seven strands: culture and art, artistic, musical, sporting, languages, family and faith. In summer the school runs its own camp (Casal d'estiu).

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages
being checked
School website
Summer camp
Yes
Admissions Admission to the nursery, primary school, ESO and the bachillerato goes through the general pre-registration of Catalonia, entirely online on the website of the Department of Education; no paper documents need to be taken to the school, and for help with the application a family can come to the school by arrangement over the telephone. For the 2026-2027 academic year the deadlines are: nursery and primary school - from 4 to 18 March, ESO - from 6 to 18 March, bachillerato - from 9 to 16 April; provisional lists by points for the younger stages come out on 15 April, the tie-break draw is on 28 April, final lists on 29 April and allocation on 10 June, while for the bachillerato final lists come out on 29 May and allocation on 17 June. For the IB Diploma Programme there is a separate selection: an average mark of "notable" or higher for years 1-3 of ESO is required, then an examination in Catalan and mathematics at the level of year 4 of ESO and an interview with the pupil and the family, partly in English. The school's own ESO pupils do not get an IB place automatically, the conditions are the same for everyone, and admission continues until the places run out. The school writes nothing separately about pupils from other countries.
Stages and year groups Grades nursery - the bachillerato. The stages are listed one after another on the school's home page: Llar d'infants (nursery), Educacio Infantil, Educacio Primaria, ESO, Batxillerat and Batxillerat Internacional. That is, the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme runs as a separate upper-stage line beside the national bachillerato. The school gives no figure for its minimum age of admission.
Address Carrer Pau Claris, 131, 08009 Barcelona

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Playground
Campus: An urban campus divided by stage: a nursery building, a kindergarten building, an ESO and bachillerato building, playgrounds, a lunch space, common rooms, a swimming pool and a church. Reception and a study room operate as a separate service.
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp; whether it takes children from outside is not stated on the website
The school runs a summer camp of its own - the Casal d'estiu.

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a guidance department and a school nurse - both named as separate sections of the site. Alongside them stands a box for suggestions, complaints and thanks. The school names no child protection policy and no security staff.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
61
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Colegio AdharazEspartinas · 67.5Colegio CEU Jesús María AlicanteAlicante · 67.5Colegio CEU San Pablo ValenciaMoncada · 67.5Institut Moisès BroggiBarcelona · 67.5