← Back to homeColégio Rainha D. Leonor

Caldas da Rainha, Portugal · Private
Illustration · Caldas da Rainha
A private school in Caldas da Rainha that carries a child from nursery to leaving: it has a nursery and daycare, a preschool, the 1st, 2nd and 3rd cycles, secondary education and vocational education. Lessons are in Portuguese: the curriculum is the Portuguese national one, all pages for parents and pupils, the timetable and the enrolment procedure are written in Portuguese, and the English version of the site is only partly translated. English is taught as a subject: two hours a week in grades 1 and 2, more in grades 3 and 4, then as a separate subject and as conversation practice after lessons; Spanish is offered as introductory workshops. The school runs the Cambridge International School programme as a separate track and takes part in Erasmus+ exchanges. In the 1st cycle the usual subjects are joined by Escola na Horta with work in the school garden, philosophy and emotional education, economics and pupil assemblies, and since 2017 the Mind Yourself project. In secondary education the school runs three tracks - languages and humanities, socio-economic sciences, and science and technology - and adds study visits, company visits, debates, conferences, solidarity projects and international exchanges, while pupils who fall behind get afternoon sessions and a separate Recuperação + programme.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Portuguese
Languages taught
English, Spanish
Stages and year groups Grades Nursery and daycare, preschool, 1st, 2nd and 3rd cycles, secondary education and vocational education. Secondary education runs three tracks: languages and humanities, socio-economic sciences, and science and technology. Enrolment is online through the e-Schooling platform for the school years from 2026/2027 to 2029/2030. In the 2nd cycle mobile phones are banned during the school day.
Address Rua Luís Caldas, 2500-817 Caldas da Rainha
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school stands on Rua Luís Caldas in Caldas da Rainha. It has a laboratory for experimental science, a library, an art laboratory and the school garden Horta da Nonô, which carries a teaching project of its own, Escola na Horta. Entry to the grounds runs through two gates: the north one for the 1st cycle and the south one for the rest.
Clubs and activities: Conversação em inglês · Mãos à obra · Clube de programação · Aquí se habla español · Ciências experimentais · Jogos tradicionais portugueses · Jogos didáticos · Apoio ao estudo · Mind Yourself · Art First · Escola na Horta · Multimédia e programação · Recuperação +
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
✓Access control
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Entry to the school grounds is split between two supervised gates: the north one for 1st cycle pupils and the south one for the rest.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data60 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median70 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country